A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Cross stitch dilemma

8 Comments

Before I discovered the wonderful world of scrapbooking, I used to do cross stitching. I started off with small kits, progressed to various kits of Country companions and Forever friends, which were very popular at the time, and went on to larger and more ambitious projects. I have them all framed and hanging round the house and I’m still rather fond of them all.

Like all my hobbies, I enjoy the shopping and hoarding part of the craft and have several kits waiting to be started. I was just getting into all things Disney and was acquiring kits with that theme at an alarming rate. Disney, of course, is what led me to The Dibb, and Bev and Fiona which led to scrapbooking and then to the decline of cross stitch. This was back in 2001/2002

But, I was halfway through a cross stitch project when my interest faded out and although I’ve tried several times to finish it, my heart just isn’t in it. The problem is, I don’t like it. I didn’t pick it you see. I had this lovely Dragon winding round a castle kit all ready to go. I’d been saving it for ages, waiting until I felt experienced enough to do it. Then, my mother saw this kit and thought it would be wonderful if I made it for Stephen, so she bought it for him/me. Sigh.


It’s not small. 20cm x 25.5cm. Plus it’s a flamin’ hedgehog. Do you know how fiddly those Country Companion hedgehogs are? I’ll tell you. The bristles are done using two colours in the needle at a time. Just for a few stitches, then you need to change to a different two colours. It takes forever. There are three shades of blue in his sleeves. Three shades of red in his hat. six shades of grey. You get the idea.

I’ve thrown stacks of money at it, buying different frames and stands in the hope of making it easy enough to do that I’ll get it finished. At the moment it’s in a freestanding one. All the bits I need to start sewing are at hand. It’d take me three minutes tops to be sitting down and stitching. But, still not interested.


Look, I’m not even half way done! And the bit I have done still has all the back stitch to be done, which is probably my least favourite part.

So, here’s my dilemma. I would really like to start doing a bit of cross stitching again. Especially after seeing what Tree has been posting on her blog. And also after she’s challenged me to start stitching again. I can’t resist a challenge! However, I just can’t see me finishing that flamin’ hedgehog.

On the one hand, I hate to give up on a project, and I’m pretty sure that if I pack this particular project away, it’ll never see the light of day again. On the other hand, if I don’t I’m fairly certain that I won’t be getting around to any of my other cross stitch kits. Ever. And they are very, very nice, and I’d love to do them some time soon. Plus, they’re small enough to be do-able and aren’t intimidating.

There’s these for instance.


Piglet’s new friend, Tigger’s new friend etc. Small, simple, cute and only around 10cm. Then there’s the flower collection. Slightly larger at around 12 or 14cm but still simple and cute. Pooh’s flowers, Eeyore’s flowers etc.

I also have three slightly larger stand-alone Winnie the Pooh kits, plus a gorgeous calendar kit with the twelve panels. That’d be lovely to do as each panel would be like a separate piece. Then I have the ‘Pooh’s Millennium firework display’ kit. That one’s a limited edition and is gorgeous. It shows the characters looking up at the fireworks which are splashed across the night sky. Quite large, and I haven’t worked on black aida before but worth the effort. Then, there’s my dragon round the castle which I now need to work up to again.

So, what to do? I hate to be a quitter but I just don’t want to do that hedgehog. Never did, to be honest and I can’t say I’ve ever enjoyed working on it. Should I feel guilty for ditching it and seeing if I can get back into stitching by doing something that I’d really like to do?

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

8 thoughts on “Cross stitch dilemma

  1. Yep, you definitely need to do a small one and then you can bask in the glory that is a completed project! Don’t feel guilty about the other one, it’s no fun to make stuff you don’t like. I’m finding the following to be a good plan of action
    1. Stitch a project
    2. Revel in the completion
    3. Read a Plum book (or two…or three)
    4. Laugh your head off at the Plum antics.
    5. Repeat from No. 1 onwards
    😀 😀 😀

    Like

  2. I have to agree that if you feel obligated to do it then it’s not so fun and you should do whatever is speaking to you at the moment. I love cross stitching, but I went through a stitching dry spell for about 2 years where I just didn’t touch any of my projects. I did sewing and other things until the cross stitch started screaming at me from it’s drawer in the other room again.

    Like

  3. Packing it up is a good thing. Someday you might feel moved to finish it. I set aside a very tricky one with a reclining woman in a dress of about 19 shades of pink last month. It’s so pretty but OMG!! I started a simpler one & am enjoying it so much. Someday I will get back to the woman in pink.

    Like

  4. Thank you!
    I feel so much better now. The thing is dismantled and packed away and I’ve found a small very simple Winnie the Pooh one to start me off again.
    I might even make a start tomorrow 😉

    Like

  5. I’m with all the others, pack it away & forget it. Life’s too short to ‘suffer’ doing stuff you dont have to do just because you think you ‘should’ do it. Dont feel in the least bit guilty, feel proud of yourself for daring to say ‘stuff it…I dont even like it’. Go Carole……chuck it on the back of a cupboard & feel the freedom! xxx

    Like

  6. Stick it in a drawer and forget it. Hobbies are supposed to be enjoyable, not an obligation.
    I also cross-stiched before I found theDis and scrapbooking. I have a wedding sampler half done, I would actually quite like to finish that and keep meaning to pull it out and get going on it again. I also have a birth sampler for Molly which is done except for her name and birth details, and I can’t find it! that is even more frustrating as I know it’s very close to being done.

    Like

  7. Definitely pack it away. Life is too short to work on projects you don’t enjoy especially as even if you finish it you then have to hang it up and the Disney ones would look so much better on the wall. GO Carol . Be rebellious!

    Like

  8. Pack it away and do something you want to do and is more easily achievable.
    When my kids were little(this will make you laugh) i lost the ability to read books.I had no time and anything I did read I was ‘scan reading’. When I had more time I still couldn’t settle to reading decent sized books although I was reading plenty of bedtime stories etc. So I started reading junior fiction again,easy to finish and easy to understand without too much concentration.A really good friend and avid reader lent me books from her daughters collection and I soon got more aventurous and was back to reading big books with lots of pages !! You might get the enthusiasm for big projects back or you might never do that hedgehog but in the meantime you will be happy and enjoying the cross stitch you do do…..SIMPLEZ ; 0 )

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

