A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Just remembered

4 Comments

I knew there was something I was supposed to be doing. Uploading a pic of February's My Little Heart cross stitch, that's what. Ah well, I got there eventually. There was a choice of three different charts for February but I liked this one best. I still had some of the border to do when I took the photo but that's well in hand now. In fact, March is now complete and I'm almost ready to start on April. Just have to figure out which colours to use.

02Feb

I might start April's Winnie the Pooh first though. It's really odd going from Aida to Jobelan. The two fabrics are completely different to sew on. Using the magnifier makes it actually easier to sew on the fine Jobelan so I now don't like the Aida. I'm even considering swapping the fabric in some of the kits that I have as the Jobelan is so much easier for half stitches. It looks nicer too.

I still can't do French knots despite all the advice. I'm going to stick with sewing beads on for the My Little Heart piece so please excuse my eyeless birds. They'll have eyes once it's all finished and I think it'll look much nicer.

Oh, and my plan for sewing these during the Formula one GP races isn't working. The first race wasn't too exciting and I got a lot of sewing done but the last two have been very good with lots of actual racing going on so not much sewing. I won't complain about that, though.
 

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

4 thoughts on “Just remembered

  1. Thank you, thank you. I no longer feel as if I’m the only person in the universe who cannot do French knots.
    Seed beads rule LOL

    Like

  2. small seed beads are so much nicer than french knots!! Only because I can’t do them either πŸ˜†
    I’m with you on the Jobelan over the Aida – much prefer Jobelan and especially now I have a magnifying glass.

    Like

  3. Thanks! πŸ˜€
    Shame we’ve just missed the Sewing for pleasure thing at the NEC. What a fine excuse that would have been for a train outing and French knot lesson πŸ˜‰

    Like

  4. It’s beautiful Carole – glad you’re enjoying the Jobelan πŸ˜€ Now about those French knots, where is my train timetable…

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

