A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Can’t wait to do this!

6 Comments

One of my favourite things to do at Disney is wander round Epcot during the Food and Wine festival. We haven't timed it right to be there since 2004 so we're really excited to be there at the right time this year. I've been looking at the menus for the various pavillions and my mouth has been watering at just the thought of all the lovely food we'll be sampling so I thought I'd share it with you. It's a really long menu so I've edited out the drinks and just included the yummy appetisers, entrees and desserts.

Argentina
Roasted Corn and Cheese Empanada – sounds good

Grilled Beef Skewer with Chimichurri Sauce and Boniato Purée – no idea what Chimichurri Sauce is but there's one way to find out

Australia
Seared Barramundi with Blistered Cherry Tomatoes,Arugula, and Lemon Oil – sounds very good

Grilled Lamb Chop with Roasted Potato Salad and Red Wine Reduction  – tried and tested in previous years, we liked
Lamington (sponge cake dipped in chocolate) gotta try this

Belgium
Steamed Mussels with Roasted Garlic Cream – not sure about mussels but the garlic sounds ok

Freshly Baked Waffles with Berry Compote and Whipped Cream - drool
Godiva Chocolate Iced Coffee – lead me to it

Brazil
Grilled Pork Skewer with Farofa – Stephen fancies this

Shrimp Stew with Coconut and Lime – I'm a big fan of shrimp

Canada
Canadian Cheddar Cheese Soup – another favourite from previous years

Maple-Glazed Salmon with Lentil Salad – sounds yummy
Chicken Chipotle Sausage with Sweet Corn Polenta, Nanaimo Bar – sounds yummy also

Charcuterie & Cheese
Cheese Fondue with Croutons and Roasted Potatoes – think I could manage this

Applewood Smoked Beef, Duck; and Ham - also this

Chile
Shrimp Ceviche – more shrimp, yay!

Pastel de Choclo (Beef and Corn Pie) – I'll stick with the shrimp 

China

Black Pepper Shrimp with Sichuan Noodles – and yet more shrimp, oh happy day

Pork Pot Stickers – might try this
Xinjiang Barbecue Chicken Stick – and even this one too, looks like China's going to be popular

Desserts & Champagne – do I really need to say anything here?
Strawberry Angel Verrine

Pear Streusel Pudding Cake
Dark Chocolate Sensation
oh boy!

France
Escargots Persillade en Brioche – no thanks! Really!

Braised Short Ribs in Cabernet with Mashed Potatoes – that sounds more like it
Crème Brulée au Chocolate au Lait – oh wait, skip the first two courses and just go straight to dessert

Germany
Spätzle Gratin with Ham and Cheese – possibly

Nürnberger Sausage in a Pretzel Roll – maybe
Apfel Strudel featuring Werther's Original Karamell Sauce – oh definitely

Greece
Greek Salad with Pita Bread – I love Greek salad
Spanakopita – love this too
Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki – and this. Can't pronounce it, but love eating it
Baklava - mmmmmmm

Hops & Barley
Boston-style Crab Cake with Cabbage Slaw and Rémoulade – oh I really like the sound of this. Love crab cakes!

New England Lobster Roll – and this too
Pecan Bread Pudding – and most definitely this

Ireland

Lobster and Scallop Fisherman's Pie – more lobster, good job I like seafood

Kerrygold® Cheese Selection – and cheese for Stephen
Warm Chocolate Lava Cake with Baileys Irish Cream Ganache – oh my! I gotta have me some of this

Italy
Polpettine Toscane with a Rosemary Breadstick - I love Italian food

Baked Cheese Ravioli, Creamy Bolognese Sauce, Melted Mozzarella – I especially love Ravioli
Cannolo Al Cioccolato – did someone say chocolate?
Primavera Fruit Smoothie – the token health food

Mexico

Tamal de Pollo – I love Mexican food too

Taco de Chilorio – especially Tacos
Esquites(Pan-Fried Corn and Spices) – these sound nice
Churro – don't like these though

Morocco

Beef in a Pita Pocket – I really love Moroccan food
Falafel Pita Pocket – espec
ially Falafel

Baklava – yum!

New Zealand
Seared Sea Scallop with Vegetable Slaw and Lemon Oil – sounds nice

Lamb Slider with Tomato Chutney – sounds very nice
where's the pudding?


Poland

Kielbasa and Potato Pierogies with Caramelized Onions and Sour Cream – I have no idea what this is, but am going to find out

Golabki (Pork Stuffed Cabbage) - might try this too, if I have any room left

Puerto Rico
Asopao de Pollo (Chicken Soup with Rice) – worth a look

Medianoche Sandwich – no idea what this is

Singapore
Shrimp Cake with Singapore Noodle Salad – oh yum, more shrimp!

Coconut-Braised, Beef Rendang with Jasmine Rice – coconut, sounds very nice

South Africa

Flavors of Africa (Salad, Bread, and Spreads) – I think we've tried this before and liked it

Seared Beef Tenderloin with Sweet Potato Purèe and Mango Barbecue Sauce – this sounds good

South Korea
Lettuce Wraps with Roast Pork and Kimchi Slaw – not sure about this

Barbecue Short Rib with Steamed Rice and Cucumber Kimchi – this however sounds rather nice
Honey Ginger Tea – and this sounds lovely!

Spain

Serrano Ham, Chorizo, Manchego, Olives, and Tomato Bread – sounds yum!

Seared Albacore Tuna with Romesco Sauce – also yum
Spanish Almond Cake – not so yum

United States
Bison Chili with Wild Mushrooms, Cabernet, and Pepper Jack Cheese – can't say that I've ever eaten Bison before

Heirloom Tomatoes with Oregon Blue Cheese, Red Onions, and Basil - this sounds much safer. On the other hand, who wants to play safe?

I'm thinking it's a really good job that we're staying at The Beach Club Villas again so we're nice and handy for the festival for half of our stay. I'm also thinking it's a good job I haven't made any dinner reservations as we're going to be so stuffed from eating our way around the world that we won't want to eat out. To be honest, I'd rather snack on these mini meals any day. Strolling round in the sun, an appetiser in this country, an entree in that one. Then desserts in several more. Stephen can have a beer or two. Or three. Preferably not just before going on Test Track though. Utter bliss. I really can't wait!

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

6 thoughts on “Can’t wait to do this!

  1. October. We’ll be there for Halloween so that’ll be great fun too 😀
    And yes, it’s a good job we do a lot of walking while we’re there otherwise all that food could have a serious effect on my waistline.

    Like

  2. When are you going Carole? I put on a stone just reading all those menus ha ha. X

    Like

  3. Of course, and we’ll have internet access while we’re there, so I can post my ‘munch round the world’ progress as we go.

    Like

  4. ooh this sounds fabulous – hope you’re going to take lots of photos.

    Like

  5. Oh I definitely like the sound of the Chimichurri.
    I’m not so apprehensive about the Bison now either. I quite like chilli so hopefully there’ll be time to sample that too.
    Thanks for that Stacey 🙂

    Like

  6. Oh that all sounds so good. Chimichurri is excellent, garlicy & herby. We make it for grilling steaks. Bison tastes like beef only extra beefy with a bit of something extra. Its good, a bit rich. depending on the flavor of the chili, you might not notice any difference from beef. We have a bison farm about 12 miles away & every now & then buy ground bison for burgers. I think France & New Zealand’s menus have the most appeal to me

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

