A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Sense and Sensibility

1 Comment

 
Sense and Sensibility  This is the third book read and reviewed for the Everything Austen II challenge over on Stephanie's blog. Once again, I'll start off with a brief synopsis.
 

Marianne Dashwood wears her heart on her sleeve, and when she falls in love with the dashing but unsuitable John Willoughby she ignores her sister Elinor's warning that her impulsive behaviour leaves her open to gossip and innuendo. Meanwhile Elinor, always sensitive to social convention, is struggling to conceal her own romantic disappointment, even from those closest to her. Through their parallel experience of love – and its threatened loss – the sisters learn that sense must mix with sensibility if they are to find personal happiness in a society where status and money govern the rules of love.

 

Ok, so here's the thing. Generally speaking I do like reading Austen's books. I find them soothing, relaxing and entertaining. This one wasn't. I just didn't connect with it the same way I did with the others. I didn't like Marianne. She irritated me. So did Elinor at times, if it come to that. I thought the ending was way too convenient. It just left me feeling slightly cheated.

Sigh. I do sound as if I didn't enjoy it, don't I? I did like it up to a point, otherwise I wouldn't have finished it. It just didn't compare to Northanger Abbey, which I really did love. So maybe what I should say is that compared to many other novels it shone, but not compared to the likes of P&P, Northanger Abbey etc.

Next up for the challenge is Mr Darcy, Vampyre by Amanda Grange. Should be fun!

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

One thought on “Sense and Sensibility

  1. I really cannot stand Marianne Dashwood at all, lol! which makes the Sea Monster book all the more satisfying to read 😀 I may have to get Mr Darcy Vampyre – I’ll see what you make of it first though. I have the Zombies to look forward to yet 😀

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

