A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Two flights later

4 Comments

and Stephen is in the doghouse already. I'm going to have to keep this short as I may run out of battery power on the laptop and I can't plug it in. Why can't I plug it in? I'm glad you asked. I have two adaptors to plug my UK appliances into US sockets and both were in their correct bag in the suitcase that Stephen was packing. For reasons known only to him, he removed them from their bag and put his shaver in there instead. And, he didn't put the adaptors back into the suitcase. Leaving me with no way to plug in most of my appliances. Doghouse.

But, here we are in Florida, which was gloriously sunny when we arrived but it's dark now as it's getting late and I'm deliberately not looking at my watch as if I know what the time is in the UK I'll probably fall asleep on principle. We were up at 4am for our 6am checkin and our journey went about as smoothly as any trip abroad ever has.

We flew from Birmingham this year, and I may be biased as I work there but it was much nicer flying from there than from Manchester and a million times better than from Gatwick. I seriously never want to set foot in Gatwick ever again if I can help it. This year we took an indirect flight for the first time. We've never flown with Continental before but I was very impressed with all aspects of their service. The ground crew were great and we were checked in with the minimum of fuss. We missed the queue at security and were through very quickly and had time for some breakfast in the departure lounge. I managed to say hello to a few colleagues too.

The plane seemed really tiny. We're used to a 3-4-3 configuration and this was a 3-3 so much narrower. The seats, however, were a real surprise as they were very roomy. Normally about halfway there I start to feel cramped but this time the flight seemed to be over in no time and I felt comfortable the whole time. The meals were ok and were comparable to Virgin except that Continental trust you with metal cutlery.

Coming in to land I spotted the Empire State building and the Statue of Liberty so I've now 'seen' New York…

The transit through Newark airport was very easy and we were seated at our gate with plenty of time to spare. We're pretty sure our second flight down to Orlando was on the same plane as our first flight as we recognised the red duct tape that was holding the overhead lockers together above seats 24, 25, and 26c. Our flight made good time and we sailed through Orlando airport having already done all the security stuff at Newark. After picking up our bags we checked in at the Magical Express desk and let Disney coach us to our resort.

Our order from Garden Grocer had arrived when we got here. We got to our villa and just phoned down to Bell services for them to bring it up to us. So easy. I did feel sorry for the poor chap though as we're on the second floor and there's no lift. We had a lot of water delivered too. Our appartment is lovely. We haven't stayed at Old Key West before and like the other DVC resorts it's nice and roomy. We're in a one bedroom villa. The whirlpool bath is huge. I need to get down to that nice shop at Downtown Disney to pick up some bath balls for it.

I guess we can look for an adaptor plug while we're there. If I don't update my blog for a while, you'll know that we haven't managed to find one and therefore Stephen is still very much in that doghouse.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

4 thoughts on “Two flights later

  1. Hope you have a fab time and that you are hooked up with some adaptors soon. :oD

    Like

  2. Woop, you’re there all safe & sound & I really really hope (for Stephens sake!!) that you find a new adaptor cos I love reading your holiday posts…they’re brill. Have a great holiday the two of you, I’m sooooooooo jealous. Take squillions of photos. Sending lotsa love xxxx

    Like

  3. YAY! You’re there safely. Only one thing to say to Stephen……Oh Stephen!!Hope you’ve managed to find an adaptor,otherwise you’re going to have to find another way to record your adventures.

    Like

  4. Oh I do hope you find one as I always enjoy your holiday posts. We’ve book okw for next summer so I will be interested to hear what you think.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

