A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Eating to the beat

3 Comments

This morning we did not do early entry to Animal Kingdom. In fact we did not go to Animal Kingdom at all. Today was a casualty of the first, and hopefully last, migraine of the holiday. It wasn't a particularly bad one, just bad enough to keep me horizontal until 2pm.

Once it had lessened enough to allow me to get out of bed, I got ready to go out and we discussed where it was best to head for. The Magic Kingdom and Epcot were open latest but with a halloween party scheduled at the Magic Kingdom we reckoned it would be busiest there so we hopped on a bus to Epcot. And lets face it. The Food and Wine festival was beckoning.

03F&W 
Oh I do love the Food and Wine festival. I know those snack size portions are expensive but it's such fun trying all the different foods. I'd read a tip on the Disney site about getting the gift card and using that to buy at the stalls instead of having to keep getting your cash out. I know I could charge to our room, but the gift card seemed like a better way to budget as the receipt would have the card balance on it. Also the gift card is small and is on a wrist strap. We found it so much easier using that, it was very fast to pay with it, and we knew exactly how much we'd spent, where with cash you tend to lose track.

When we arrived at Epcot we ambled about for a while looking at the offerings and mooching in the different shops and pavillions, just enjoying being there. We love Epcot. It feels like home, as we spend so much time there when we stay at the Beach Club. We did spot something new this time. I knew it was there but it was still exciting to explore a new shop, especially when it sells such yummy stuff. I never realised there were so many different Werthers sweets available. They do one with milk chocolate, caramel and salt. Must have some. Stephen was amazed at the range of sugar free and is going to get some to take home. And you should see the toffee apples…

03Werthers 
As we were strolling along, we passed the area where they hold the Eat to the beat concerts. Just as one was starting – and there were seats left. It was Howard Jones, a real blast from the past so we went in and really enjoyed it.

03Howard 
I've still got his last song in my head. Everyone seemed to have fun and there were several people dancing at the sides and down the front. 

We were a bit peckish after that so went looking for our first mini meal. We settled on Lobster and scallop fisherman's pie from Ireland. It was extremely tasty. We sat and ate that while we caught the last part of Off Kilter's act. It was getting dusk at this point and the lights were coming on all around the lagoon. I always think it looks so pretty with all the reflections and I couldn't resist trying out some of the scene modes on the new camera.

03reflections 
Canada's stand had some nice offerings, but we've tried the soup and salmon before so we both had the Chicken Chipotle Sausage with Sweet Corn Polenta. The polenta was delicious and Stephen loved the sausage but it was a touch too spicy for me. I could have done with a gallon of water afterwards. After that I fancied some dessert and I knew exactly where I wanted to go for it. I had some Pear streusel cake from the Desserts and champagne stand. I resisted the temptation to go for the trio of desserts although when I saw them I did wish I had. The streusel was very nice indeed and I'll be going back to see if the Strawberry dessert is as nice. Stephen visited Brazil for some Grilled Pork Skewer with Farofa and said it was quite nice.

It was getting quite late now and they were starting to dim the lights ready for Illuminations. We wanted to make our exit before the crowd as we were using the Disney transport so we made our way out. We had time for one more photo though as I spotted one of my favourite sights.

03SEreflection 
We didn't have to wait long for a bus but we did learn one valuable lesson tonight. When you're on a bus that doesn't go to the Hospitality House stop first, get off at the first stop it goes to and walk back. Otherwise you're going to tour the entire Old Key West resort which takes ages.

We might go to the Magic Kingdom tomorrow. Then again we might do something completely different.  We like to be unpredictable…

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

3 thoughts on “Eating to the beat

  1. Just the three weeks 😉
    Nothing planned for the 2nd. I think we’re going with plan free as much as possible.
    Definitely yes to coffee.

    Like

  2. Sounds like a wonderful afternoon!

    Like

  3. Sorry to hear about that pesky migraine spoiling your fun.Hopefully that will be your one and only this trip.
    How many weeks are you there for this time ? Have you planned anything specific for the 2nd November yet ?
    We must get together for a birthday coffee when you come back.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

