A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

French knots, beads ‘n all

2 Comments

The My Little Heart stitch-a-long is finished. Hooray! It was my first experience of using any fabric that wasn’t Aida and I’ve learnt that I much prefer Evenweaves. I used Jobelan for this project and I really liked stitching on it. I’ll probably replace any Aida in kits with it in future. I’ve learnt how to do French knots. Not that successfully, as they’re mostly uneven but at least I know the technique now and they mostly work now. That’s a start. I got the confidence to substitute colours as I didn’t like the ones used in the first month and after that I had to match them up as I went along. I’m not sure they all go brilliantly, but it’ll do. And I had fun with it. I substituted beads for some of the French knots just because I could, and because I thought they’d look nice. I still think they do now that they’re on.

And this is what it looks like.

French knots, beads 'n all
I don’t think I’d do another SAL, as there are so many other projects that I want to do, but I’m glad that Tree persuaded me to do this one.

So, with this finished I now only have two Works In Progress. That’ll never do so I’ll definitely have to make a start on The Bookshelf now and possibly one of the other pieces that I have kitted up. I’m just going to do a bit on Venice Street first as I haven’t touched it for a while and I want to transfer it into the new frame, and then something new.

Oh, and I got my car back today. All fixed by the very nice men at Prospect Service Centre. Thank goodness. Yesterday Stephen took me into work before he went in. Unfortunately, he started work two and a half hours before me so I was in just a leeetle bit early. 2am to be precise. I had to sit in our cold staff room with a book. Normally I’m quite happy to sit and read but I was very tired. I don’t think I’ve ever got up at 1am before and my body couldn’t quite believe it. He picked me up after work so that wasn’t too bad. Today he had the day off so he took me in at my normal time of 5am. Phew. But, he couldn’t pick me up as his car had to go in for some work, so I had to get two buses home which took over an hour and a half. The buses were freezing. Then I’d just thawed out when we had to go back out and get a bus to the garage to pick up the cars. I was so happy to see my car though. I missed my car.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

2 thoughts on “French knots, beads ‘n all

  1. It turned out beautifully Carole, it was fun to do wasn’t it – my first experience of a monthly mystery cross stitch along. Like you though, I have quite a lot of charts that I want to stitch now…I’ve been collecting :blush: My own Little Heart is finished too, I must photo it.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

