A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Black Swan Rising – Lee Carroll

Leave a comment

Transworldsmall
This is a review for The Transworld Book Club and I’ll start off with the blurb from the back cover of the book.

“Jeweller Garet James isn’t the same as everyone else.

She just doesn’t know it yet.

With her fair share of problems – money (lack of), an elderly father, a struggling business – Garet should be just like any other young, single New Yorker. If only it was that simple…

It began with the old silver box that had been soldered shut. All Garet had to do was open it. A favour for the frail owner of the antiques shop. Who wouldn’t help?

Only then things start to change. Garet doesn’t notice at first, the shifts are barely perceptible. But the city is beginning to reveal a darker, long-hidden side. Figures, shadows, flit in and out of her vision. She finds herself drawn to the mysterious Will Hughes. He’s a stranger and yet Garet feels she has known him for an eternity?

And whatever escaped the box has no intention of going back in…”

BlackSwan
I’ve been reading this over the past few nights and may have stayed up a bit later than I should have a couple of times. I have really, really enjoyed this book and will definitely be getting the next book in the series. It was beautifully written, with just enough description to sketch a picture for you and draw you in. I loved the whole concept of it, with all the different Fey and the tale of Garet’s mother. I enjoyed the way the story enfolded and the way you kept finding out more pieces of the puzzle. I was intrigued by all the different characters that were introduced and would love to see more in the next book. The way Garet’s abilities grew was fascinating too. I especially enjoyed reading about the auras. They were so well described that I found myself imagining what they would look like on people who I know.

There was one bit in the book that just tickled me, so I’m going to share it. Garet is visiting one of the Fey and comes across this sign on the way. “If you are grouchy, irritable, or just plain mean, there will be a $10 charge for putting up with you.” I want that sign up where I work!

Towards the end of the book, I glanced to see how many pages were left and was worried to see that I was nearly finished. I was worried that it wouldn’t be wrapped up by the end. It was, of course, and very well too. Not rushed at all – there was even time to tidy up a few loose ends and add a gentle teaser into the next book. Which as I said, I’m definitely going to be getting.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

