A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Books read in August

Leave a comment

This is getting published just a little bit early this month, as after today my blog will be full of holiday stuff. At least I hope it will. I’ll probably manage a couple more books before the month is out, but I’ll tag those onto the start of September’s book round-up. My blog, my rules *grin*

Even counting that I’m cutting it short, there wasn’t much reading done this month. Too much time spent holiday planning. It’s hard work going on holiday, you know. I did read a couple of rather splendid books, as well as a few good ones. Best book of the month had to be Jim Butcher’s Ghost story, followed closely by Black Swan Rising.

Teaser Tuesday sort of vanished into the ether halfway through the month. What can I say? I was busy packing…

The house in Paris – Elizabeth Bowen
Teaser Tuesday
I rather liked this one. None of the characters were particularly likeable but they were interesting. The children were whiny and spoilt. The adults were odd in their attitude to their respective love affairs, and to their children’s affairs. I liked the way the book gave you the story in the present before revealing the past and then taking you back to the consequenses in the present. Yup, quite enjoyable.

The Graduate – Charles Webb
Again, this was a book with a cast of characters ranging from those that it was difficult to warm to, to those that you just plain didn’t like. It was still an entertaining and enjoyable read, and quite a quick read too. I’m not sure if I’d seen the film, but if I had it was a long time ago. I had a vague idea of the plot but didn’t know what happened in the second half of the book. It wasn’t a bad read, but I think I’m glad it wasn’t much longer as the characters were starting to annoy me a little.

The bride that time forgot – Paul Magrs
This was excellent. Book five of the Brenda and Effie series and there was plenty going on in Whitby, and further afield, to keep the book rolling along at a cracking pace. I loved some of the sly references to other books this time, especially as I’d only read one of them last year. There were some marvellous moments in this book. I’m just wondering if that’s the last of these books or if there will be more. I really have enjoyed them.

Black Swan Rising – Lee Carroll
Teaser Tuesday
I loved this one. It was an excellent Urban Fantasy book so I’m really happy that it’s the first in a trilogy. As it was one of the Transworld Book Club books, I did a review for it here.

Ghost story – Jim Butcher
I’ve been waiting a long time for this, having read the previous one as soon as it came out and I’ve been stalking the library website, watching for my reserved book to become available, ever since it was released. As soon as it arrived at my local library I rushed up there to collect it and I’ve read it in just a couple of sittings. I had very high expectations but it very easily exceeded them. The last book ended on a cliff-hanger with Dresden being shot and presumably killed. This one starts off with Dresden dying and becoming a spirit. Wow! What a roller coaster of emotions this book evoked. There was the usual humour and plenty of action. There was sadness and horror and despair. At a couple of points I was near tears – always a sign of a good book in my opinion. And the twists in the tale were magnificent. Butcher’s writing is just fantastic. I was in complete awe. I love, love, loved the ending, but shall say no more for fear of spoiling the book for anyone who has yet to read it. This is one of my favourite series and is most definitely recommended.

Three men in a boat – Jerome K Jerome
I’ve had this sitting on my classics shelf for years and had absolutely no idea what it would be like. I thought it was time to read it though as it’s on The Big Read list so I gave it a go. It was funny. It was really funny. It wasn’t just the tale of the three men who go on a boating trip, although that was funny in itself, but it also kept going off into tales of other equally humorous boating trips. I rather enjoyed it.

Seventh heaven – Meg Cabot
Another migraine, another Princess diaries. I have to say that I’m enjoying these slightly less as the series goes on, but I’m determined to read them all. They are useful for post-migraine reading when I can’t process anything more complex. This one was ok, but a bit bizarre.

Teacher, Teacher! – Jack Sheffield
This was the second of my Transworld Book Club books and was another great read. There was a review in the previous post so I won’t repeat myself by babbling on again here.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

