A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

The Great Escape – Cretan Catch

Leave a comment

I’ve now done the second stitch in part three of this project. It didn’t take long once I’d finished my practice piece as it isn’t a complicated stitch. Like most of the others it just requires that you get the tension right so the thread sits correctly.

This is how it looks now, with the Cretan Catch stitch at the bottom.

The Great Escape - Cretan Catch
I really wish I could get the fabric to photograph better. Or maybe it’s just the settings on my laptop. Whatever the problem is, the fabric looks a pretty blue on my screen, when it’s actually a delicate green in real life. It’s very frustrating as the thread is coming out the right colour. Sigh.

I’ve just downloaded part four of The Great Escape so it looks like I’ve caught up with this just in time. Part four looks a bit scary though. It’s only a straight stitch but it’s the owl’s head and beak so getting the posititioning right will be crucial. I’m undecided whether to carry on using this colour or maybe use something different. I need to have a think on that.

I’m going to finish the wee project that I started on Friday first, and then I’ll either carry on with this or maybe do some more to my Tree of Stitches.

Mustn’t forget that I’ve that Stitch-a-long with Tree coming up soon too. I’m looking forward to that.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

