A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

The Dark Side

3 Comments

I said I'd never do it but today I finally gave in to the inevitable and bought a Kindle. I had a huge wodge of Tesco vouchers so I've treated myself for my birthday.

I've said over and over again that digital books aren't 'real' books and I've turned my nose up at all the various e-readers. I tried reading on my DS and didn't particularly get on with it. No, I was convinced that nothing could replace paper. I love the smell of it, the feel of it and the look of it. I love having walls lined with bookcases. An e-reader just wasn't going to do it.

But here I am with a shiny new Kindle. I've been thinking about it for a while. I've seen a friend's Kindle, and talked to other friends about theirs. It'll be an awful lot easier going on holiday if I don't have to take fourteen books with me. I can access all those lovely free books, and there are short stories only available in digital form. It's light to hold and much easier to read than some of the chunky bricks I've been reading lately. Especially when you consider that I tend to read one-handed when I'm eating.

It had to be done. I've finally gone over to the Dark Side.

I've been playing with it all afternoon and now have quite a few books on it. All free ones apart from one. I've taken the advice of one of my friends (thanks Tree) and have bought myself a gift voucher to buy books with. Well, actually, I sent it to myself from Stephen with the message "Happy Birthday" on it. I thought he'd like to do that for me.

I had a bit of a 'mare getting it do the wireless thing as the router is locked down tight, but I got them to talk to each other in the end.

It won't replace real books, of course. It's just a supplement to my ever increasing library. But it's a fun supplement and I'm going to enjoy playing with it.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

3 thoughts on “The Dark Side

  1. I love my Kindle! I still read more books out of the library than books on the kindle but that is mostly due to an inherent desire not to spend money. 🙂 I have certain authors I will purchase but everything else is library or under $3 on kindle. I use my Swagbucks points for Amazon gift cards

    Like

  2. Oooh Carole….so glad you came across to the Dark Side. As you say, it doesn’t replace ‘proper’ gorgeous, real, feelable books but it’s a heck of a lot lighter to carry about on trains, planes etc & so handy to bung in your handbag for when you have a spare moment!
    I tend to use some of my Nectar points to buy Amazon vouchers, purely for books (Kindle & paperbacks). Let us know how you get on with it….we can compare notes when I see you first week of Dec!! Yay. xx

    Like

  3. I think you will like it. I have the Kindle app on my iPhone and am reading loads more than I was, although my stumbling block was lack of available books, and that’s not a issue with your TBR pile! But I love that I can just decide I want to read something and have it in my hand seconds later.
    My Dad was always a die hard, books are made of paper, person and he loves his Kindle as well.
    I am hoping for a proper Kindle for Christmas, the App is very good but I think I will like the larger screen even more.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

