A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

The Great Escape – part four

2 Comments

Oh my, this part was daunting. I saw the chart for this and was rather worried that I’d bitten off more than I could chew. Ok, so it’s only straight stitch, but it’s still quite complex in the way it’s laid out. Also, some is in one strand, some in two and some in three. It gives it some lovely texture but also makes it more ‘interesting’ to stitch. I’m proud to say that I didn’t let it defeat me though. I took a couple of deep breaths, and made a start.

I was very, very careful to count carefully before making any stitches as I didn’t want to get all the way around only to find that I was one thread out. I also used a spare needle as a laying tool to get all the threads nice and parallel so it looks as neat as possible. I took my time with it and did it in two sessions. It took much longer than any of the other parts but I’m really pleased with the result.

My owl now has a beak and the outline of his head.

The Great Escape - part four
I wonder what’s coming up for part five…

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

2 thoughts on “The Great Escape – part four

  1. Definitely, and hopefully it’ll have a few more stitches in it then too 🙂

    Like

  2. Ooooh, it’s all coming on a treat chuck….looking great now. Hope I get to see it in Dec. xx

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

