A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Vanished by Liza Marklund

6 Comments

At a derelict port in Stockholm, two brutally murdered men are found by a security guard. In the same area a young woman, Aida, is on the run from a deranged gunman.

 

Meanwhile, journalist Annika Bengtzon is approached by a woman wanting her story published in the Evening Post. She claims to have founded an organization to erase people’s pasts – giving vulnerable individuals a completely new identity.

Annika helps Aida to get in touch with the foundation. But as she begins to investigate this woman’s story, more bodies turn up and she finds herself getting dangerously close to the truth – that all is not as it seems…

Vanished by Liza MarklundAccording to the note in the front of the book, chronologically the events in this book follow on from Exposed. The note goes on to say that although the Annika Bengtzon novels form part of a series, they can just as easily be enjoyed on their own.

To some extent I’d agree with that. After all, I am reading them out of sequence myself. I would still say though that the first in the series, Exposed, should be read first, as the events in that are referred to in the other books and I think it’s best if you don’t know about them when you read it.

This is now the fourth book by the author that I’ve read and I’m still very keen to read more. I really like the character of Annika and it was interesting to go back in time from the later books that I’ve read to find out how she got to where she is in those. Annika is so stubborn and tenacious. Even when she’s really down she doesn’t give up. And she’s so well written that you feel that you almost know her.

I like how the books have intelligent themes to them. The author doesn’t insult you by dumbing things down so you get an interesting read as well as a thrilling one. There was a nice twist to this one with one character not being who you thought they were. That was nicely done.

Definitely recommended, but do read Exposed first.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

6 thoughts on “Vanished by Liza Marklund

  1. You have indeed got The Bomber. Do bump it up the list. You won’t regret it πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. oh I’ve already got The Bomber haven’t I – I’ll move it up the pile a bit πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. This sounds good Carole I shall seek them out.

    Like

  4. This looks interesting. I don’t read much modern crime type stuff but I need some variety for the Genre Challenge

    Like

  5. Let me know what you think. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I’m after something new to read, so I might download this tonight (I’ll take your recommendatino and get Exposed first)

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

