A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

The Great Escape – Wheat Ear stitch

2 Comments

I got a bit behind on this but I’m gradually catching up again. Part seven is the wings of the owl which are done in Wheat Ear stitch and I decided to do them in a darker colour. I quite liked doing this stitch but it was a bit fiddly to do because you have to take the needle under an already stitched thread, and then under another one. This took ages and there are a lot of stitches. Also, you have to work it from the top down so when you reach the bottom of each column you have to finish off and restart at the top of the next.

I got a bit bored of Wheat Ear stitch by the time I was half way through the second wing but I do like the effect of it. I’m going to carry straight on and do part eight, which hopefully won’t take too long.

The Great Escape - Wheat Ear stitch

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

2 thoughts on “The Great Escape – Wheat Ear stitch

  1. I love this owl. So many different stitches & the color is great!

    Like

  2. Looks fantastic – good decision with the darker thread I think, really sets his body and head off a treat 😀

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

