A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

The Great Escape – Rhodes stitch

5 Comments

Part ten is the mouse, who is attempting to make his great escape from the clutches of the owl, who has mouse’s tail under his talons. Mouse is made up of Octagonal Rhodes stitch, Heart Rhodes stitch and an adapted Ray stitch. There’s some backstitch forming his ear, paws and tail too.

This part wasn’t difficult at all. Rhodes stitch is simply a case of making sure you start in the right hole and then following the chart exactly. As Abi provides very good instructions and an excellent chart from which to work, you can’t really go wrong with this, as long as you get the placement right.

This is how the whole thing looks now.

The Great Escape - Rhodes stitch
I used a slightly different colour for the mouse and to give just a touch of texture I used silk. I had some left over from a coffee design that I stitched and one of the colours just looked mouse-like. It’s Crescent Colours Belle Soie and the colour is Cinnamon stick. It’s very pretty.

I rather liked the height you get to the stitch with Rhodes. I took a close up at an angle to show it better.

The Great Escape - Rhodes stitch
I’m caught up with this again now and won’t be starting the next cottage until March 1st. That’s all prepped ready so there’s nothing left for me to do to that, leaving me with almost a week to do something else. I have four other WIPs so you’d think I’d be getting on with one of those, wouldn’t you? That was the plan but when I was rummaging last week, I came across the Pixel People charts that I have printed off. I’ve been wanting to make a start on one of those for a while. I do really like them so today, instead of cracking on with an existing WIP, I’ve started a new one.

Yes, really.

It was a toss up between The Eleven Doctors and Firefly but Firefly won. I spent a very happy hour earlier stitching Mal from his boots up. He’s missing his coat until I get the right brown though. I may go shopping later…

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

5 thoughts on “The Great Escape – Rhodes stitch

  1. Serves me right for being AWOL!

    Like

  2. I shopped for threads, they were dispatched on Sunday and Royal Mail willing, they’ll be here tomorrow. A nice fat envelope from Patchwork Rabbit 🙂

    Like

  3. He’s looking rather magnificent isn’t he…poor little mouse trapped under the claw 😮
    Did somebody say shopping? 😀

    Like

  4. Great blog. Just happened on it when I was checking my own blog’s page ranking. I am another Carole (no other way to spell it, is there?) I am from New Zealand and blog on books amongst other things. You might be interested in this post about an autobiography I thought was pretty special http://caroleschatter.blogspot.co.nz/2011/12/personal-history-by-katherine-graham.html. Will enjoy following your blog.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

