A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

The Great Escape – part thirteen

Leave a comment

Two new stitches for part thirteen, both for flowers in the moonlight. The bottom flower is in Star stitch. There are only six flowers but they took a while to do as each one had to be done separately as any thread carried across the back would have shown. Also, I was being careful to get the threads to lay neatly. I’ve just ordered a trolley needle to help with all these fancy stitches.

In the centre of the flowers I can put either a bead or a French knot. I think I’ll probably use beads and I’m sure I have some that are suitable. I’ll add them at the end though. Abi also says that some beads could be added around the smaller flowers so I may do that too. I’ll have a better idea if I want to do that once the rest is done.

The Great Escape - part thirteen
The upper flowers are done in Tied Windmill stitch and again each one is done separately. Lots of counting, checking and double-checking of threads to get the placement right. The two lots of flowers are done in slightly different shades. Both overdyes so there’s a variegation. The lower one is a touch darker. Both colours will be used quite a bit more throughout the design.

This is how it looks now.

The Great Escape - part thirteen
I’ve still got part fourteen to do, which I’ll be starting today or tomorrow. There’s quite a lot of stitching in that. And then, finally, I can start Around the World as I’ll have the fabric. Sew and So are replacing the problem fabric for me. It’s in the post now so will probably arrive tomorrow.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

