A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Song of the Weather – March update

4 Comments

Yes, I do know that it’s April now and the post title says March. There’s a reason for that. I’m a little bit behind on this SAL. March’s has been sitting on one side ever since I got to the bit with the cutting. Chicken? Me? Surely not. With April’s not yet printed though, and May’s due in a few days, I thought I’d better get a move on so I gritted my teeth and got the scissors out.

I managed to cut only where I should have, did the wrapped bars and then the Square Filets. I liked doing the filets. They were so much nicer to do than the Dove’s eyes. I’m not entirely satisfied with the wrapped bars though. They could have been pulled a bit tighter, I feel, and they’re not even. I guess that’ll come with practise.

03MarchThe pale purple stitches in the centre are Queen stitch. I’ve done that a few times before and I like doing it. There are some French knots, which are fairly even so I’m happy with those and the stitches right in the corners are Basque knots. The were great fun and similar to a stitch that I did on The Great Escape.

Must get April and the latest Papillon printed next and then I can get cracking on those.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

4 thoughts on “Song of the Weather – March update

  1. This is cute. I like how the spaces in between the squares/diamonds are cut out.

    Like

  2. You did a beautiful job on your March piece. I haven’t started April yet either.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

