A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Around the World in 80 stitches – part 11

8 Comments

After what seemed like a huge break we finally got part 11 of this. I’ve had it sitting on my To Do pile for a couple of weeks while I caught up with Song of the Weather but at last I’ve got it done. It only took a couple of evenings as it’s just a small section this time.

There were some stitches that I hadn’t done before and a couple of familiar ones.

11completed110513

As usual, I’ve taken some close-ups.

11VictoriaStitchThat one is Victoria stitch. It consists of 6 steps and uses four colours. I rather enjoyed doing it.

11VaultStitchVault stitch. Very simple and to be honest, Ā I can’t really see why it’s got its own name instead of being a Rhodes variation. Nice to stitch – very easy.

11JapaneseStitchJapanese stitch, which consists of just Satin stitch really. I do like the effect you get doing it in that gorgeous blue variegated thread though. Then there’s the rather uneven Lazy Daisies in the metallic. I’d be quite happy if I never saw another Lazy Daisy.

11JapaneseDarningJapanese Darning. Two steps, two colours. Easy peasy. I like the little Rhodes Berries perched on the top.

11ClosedFlyStitchClosed Fly stitch. I’ve either done this one before, or a very similar variation. I like it. It’s easy to do and looks interesting.

I thought it was about time to show another photo of the whole thing. It’s growing quite nicely now. I can see what the shape of the next three parts will be and then I can’t wait to see what we’re doing in the corners. I’m starting to wonder if there will be a border all the way around.

AtW110513Onto Around the World in 80 days next and I hope to finish it off.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

8 thoughts on “Around the World in 80 stitches – part 11

  1. Your stitching is fantastic. Very beautiful.

    Like

  2. It’s looking smashing, I’m itching to stitch on mine. What on earth are we going to replace this with once it’s finished?

    Like

  3. Beautiful! It will be stunning when you complete it!

    Like

  4. This is incredibly beautiful and perfect work!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

