A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

First attempt at quilting #2

2 Comments

And it’s finished! I defeated the sewing machine gremlins and made some buttonholes for my cushion cover. This is the finished item.

BOcc03completed290613

My scrap piece of fabric, that was being used to try and do buttonholes is now looking a bit tatty. It took quite a few attempts to get it right.

BOcc04

The problem was that I wasn’t pulling the buttonhole lever down far enough. You have to pull it down and then push it gently back until it clicks into position. Mine would only click if you pulled it halfway down, so I assumed that it was in the right place. While I was fiddling with the machine, I realised that it had to be all the way down as it was when it touched the buttonhole foot, that the machine knew to start stitching back the other way. This would be why it was only sewing a straight line before, but most of the time it won’t click back if it’s in the right position so you have to gently hold it back. I got there in the end though and managed to do some fairly reasonable buttonholes.

BOcc06

They’re not perfect, and I did have a couple of issues with the two end ones, which is why I’m not showing them to you. I had to do quite a bit of tweaking to get them fairly even, adjusting stitch length and a screw at the back of the machine. I’m quite pleased with the result though.

BOcc05

It’s quite small as cushion covers go so I do need to get or make an insert for it. For the purposes of taking a photo though, I stuffed it with toy filling. It’s been a bit of a learning curve, with my first quilting and first buttonholes but I’ll feel more confident when I make the next one.

One more photo of the finished cushion.

BOcc07

 

I want to make another one now 🙂

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

2 thoughts on “First attempt at quilting #2

  1. I feel that this success heralds the start of something big 😀 it looks smashing, so glad that you got the buttonhole business figured out. How big is it?

    Like

    • Thanks 🙂
      It’s only a small one at 12″. I feel I may be sewing something else at the weekend. I’m also fighting the temptation to pop onto Ebay to look at fabric…

      Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

