A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Lost & Found by Tom Winter

1 Comment

It’s hard for Carol to admit her failings. Unhappy in her marriage and with a teenage daughter who will barely converse with her, she feels trapped. So she puts pen to paper; well, it seems less daunting than airing her thoughts aloud. She isn’t expecting anyone to read her letters, so she doesn’t address them. Instead she marks them with a smiley face and pops them in the post box.

Albert’s retirement day at Royal Mail looms and he’s given one final task: organise the ‘lost letters’ that have been piling up in a room behind the sorting machine. Among the letters addressed to Santa, he arrives at one with a smiley face drawn in place of an address. Albert opens the letter, unaware that in doing so his world will never be the same again.

Lost&Found

This was sent to me last week by Constable & Robinson. It looked just like something that I’d enjoy as it sounded a bit different and maybe a bit quirky. I generally like quirky. It started off quite slowly and it took a chapter or two before I got really drawn in. Once I did though, I was smiling along with Carol and Albert and waiting to see how things would turn out for them both.

I liked Carol. I liked how she was written and I thought she seemed like a very real person. Ditto Albert. Some of the other characters didn’t seem quite so fully fleshed out but overall the book was interesting and amusing enough for me to overlook that.

I liked the ending. It wasn’t what I was expecting and I always like to be surprised. Sometimes at the end of a book I feel that I’d have liked to have known more about what happened to the characters afterwards. This book satisfied that need so I was happy with that.

This is a nice light read and I think it’d be perfect to take on holiday.

Oh, almost forgot to mention one of my favourite characters – Gloria the cat. She doesn’t have much to say – being a cat – but she does have a lot of personality.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

One thought on “Lost & Found by Tom Winter

  1. Pingback: Books read in August | A slight obsession with books

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

