A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

May’s Cottage – framed

4 Comments

I finished this a few weeks ago but forgot about uploading it. I rather like this one in the lighter fabric but I’m a bit worried about how wonky it looks in the photo. The bottom of this does look much better than that in real life. Honest.

I did have one problem with this one. I don’t know how, but I managed to make the hanging straps too short. I’ve sewed the studs onto the back of the straps, just above the body of it, to try to make them a bit longer but this one is still going to sit a bit higher than the others.

Note to self: check length of straps before sewing them into the top in the future.

05Wfabric

I used some of the buttons that I got at the NEC a few months ago. I like how they look on this, but I’ve been thinking about how to finish off some of the other months. I may do something a bit different to buttons. I’m not quite sure what yet, but I have a few ideas rattling about.

June’s Cottage is about finished. I just need to tweak it and then I can upload that one too.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

4 thoughts on “May’s Cottage – framed

  1. That fabric is the perfect choice for round the May cottage, it looks great. I forgot to left off the ‘little creatures’ πŸ˜€

    Like

    • I’m loving the Honey Bun that I bought and having such a good choice of fabrics to frame them with.
      You’d never know those creatures were supposed to be on there, would you πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. This is so cute! Where did you get the design from?

    Like

    • Thank you πŸ™‚
      It’s one of a set of twelve cottages by Country Cottage Needleworks. I stitched all twelve last year and am gradually framing them with fabric as I get around to it and hanging them on poles in my craft room.

      Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

