A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

It’s been a while

3 Comments

I haven’t done much in the way of scrapbooking for about three years. For a while before that I was hardly doing any and was having to try really hard to motivate myself, when once I was pretty much glued to my scrapping desk. It’s a shame as I used to love scrapping and every time I go into my craft room and see all the stash that I accumulated, I feel guilty for not using it, but also I wish I wanted to use it. I want to scrap, I just can’t seem to summon the will to.

So, I’m making one last effort to get myself back into it. I’ve spent some time tidying my stash. I took my time, enjoying looking through it and thinking of things that I could do with it. I looked through some of my albums, and at other people’s layouts on UKS and Pinterest. And finally, I looked through my photos in Elements, particularly the ones from our great Alaskan adventure as those are the ones that I’d really like to play with.

I’ve spent some time over the past two weeks thinking about what I’d like to do with those photos and have sorted out a 12″ x 6″ landscape album that I’ve had for years. I’ve done two themed albums that size and quite liked doing them so I think it’ll work well to tell the story of the holiday. I can always do the odd layout for the 12″ Canada album if I want to later.

Having decided on a size, I went through my blog entries for the holiday and lifted some of the text to use as journalling. Once I had the bones of the story, I then picked photos to go with that and edited them. They arrived from Photobox this  morning, or at least the ones for the first half of the holiday did. It’s proved to be a slow process as there are a lot of photos to pick from so to stop myself from getting discouraged, I thought I’d send for the ones that I’d done so I could make a start if I wanted.

I’ve been playing with the journalling this evening, putting it into text boxes so I can print it out to size and shape and I’m almost ready to start doing some actual scrapping now.

I’m not going to do the album with a set theme or set of  papers or particular colours as that would probably involve buying stash and I have so much stuff that needs using that I really don’t want to buy anything except possibly adhesives if needed. And even those, I should have loads of, unless they’ve degraded over the last three years.

What I have been really enjoying while preparing the journalling and photos is reliving that holiday. That’s one very good reason I need to start scrapping again. For the memories.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

3 thoughts on “It’s been a while

  1. It’ll be great to see your layouts again bab, you’ve always made fabulous pages & I bet this album will look bostin once it’s all done. Enjoy yourself.

    Like

  2. Enjoy it. And dont get bogged down on making it perfect.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

