A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Having fun!

4 Comments

I’m making another cushion and I’m having a huge amount of fun doing it. I’ve discovered the glorious world of Foundation Piecing.

I’m loving it. It’s another one from the new magazine, Love Patchwork and Quilting and the instructions are excellent. The templates are on the website so I downloaded them and printed them onto freezer paper. It’s so easy to get perfect seams and corners and to get it all lined up. Love it!

StarrySkies01

The front of the cushion is almost done but I need to cut some 18″ strips for it. My one and only quilting ruler is a 12″ square and my cutting mat, which I assumed was self-healing but apparently isn’t, is just an inch or so larger. I decided that with one cushion already under my belt, and a growing fabric stash, a larger, and definitely self-healing mat was needed, along with a longer ruler.

They’re both on their way so I should be able to finish my cushion off next weekend and then I’ll have another one to show you. And yes, I know I ‘could’ cut the fabric with my small mat and ruler but it’ll be so much easier and more accurate with the larger ones.

I’ve already got the next cushion planned, and even have the fabric pulled for it. There was a booklet of different blocks with the latest copy of the magazine and I want to try making most of them. There’s a nice star that’ll look lovely on a cushion front although I think we may get overrun by cushions at this rate 🙂

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

4 thoughts on “Having fun!

  1. How’s it going? I can’t wait to see this – I knew you would appreciate the precise nature of foundation piecing!

    Like

    • The pieced bit is finished but it’s come to a standstill while I’m waiting to see if I ever get my new cutting mat and ruler. In the meantime I’m doing other stuff.

      Like

  2. I’m looking forward to seeing your cushion!
    I love foundation piecing too, perfect points everytime!
    I’ve saved an old phone book as the pages are perfect for it.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

