A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Finally, some cross stitch

6 Comments

The last time I picked up any of my cross stitch projects was in October. Once I got back from my holiday I just wasn’t in the mood for stitching. I felt more like sewing and crocheting and although I did think about cross stitch occasionally, I never got beyond thinking and into doing.

I don’t want to stop cross stitching altogether, so I thought it might be an idea to tempt myself with a new start. My WIPs are all larger projects and although I did quite fancy doing a bit more on Around the World in 80 stitches, the size of it was putting me off.

So, I pulled out this one.

Frappuccino01

It’s been in my stash for a few years. I bought three at the same time and have already stitched Cafe Latte. It’s just a small project so I’m hoping that a finish will get me back in the swing of stitching again.

In hindsight, it may have been a mistake to pick something done with one strand on 32ct, but the silk that’s provided in the kit is gorgeous to work with so I’ve enjoyed my bit of stitching.

This is where I’ve got to so far.

Frappuccino02

I’m optimistic that I’ll be keen to crack on with Around the World and try to catch up with that, once I’ve finished this. After all the work I’ve done on it, I really don’t want to abandon it.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

6 thoughts on “Finally, some cross stitch

  1. I remember you making the other one – you’ve got a good start on this one, how’s it going now?

    Like

    • It’s coming on. Not very fast as I’ve been crocheting mostly, but I have done some more to it. I’m starting to think longingly of the Papillon stitch now. I think I may be picking that up again as soon as this one is finished.

      Like

  2. I think we all have phases where we like to concentrate on one kind of crafting rather than the others . . . maybe it’s a seasonal thing? Knitting & crochet (for those who can) in the winter . . . and patchwork and cross stitch as the weather warms up. This is a lovely design and your choice of fabric is excellent.

    Like

    • I think I just needed a break from it as I’ve been cross stitching a lot the past two years. I just didn’t want to take too long a break as last time I did that, it was ten years before I started again 😛

      Like

  3. Lovely neat stitching and a very cute design 🙂

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

