A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

More on the healthy eating

2 Comments

We’re continuing with the healthy eating plan as set out in the 10 day detox book by Dr. Hyman. We’re still enjoying the food very much and have started to experiment a bit with some of our own recipes. I found some dairy-free cheese in the supermarket on Tuesday and we had some grated over our gluten-free pasta dish last night. Both the cheese and the pasta were delicious. The pasta I used was made from rice and quinoa and tasted just like normal pasta. Definitely a good result.

We’ve been making some of the other meals from the detox book, and the cookbook by the same author. I’ve also done a couple of recipes from the internet using the same principles. I thought I’d show a few of our favourites.

I cannot tell you how much I love the turkey meatloaf. It’s made with minced turkey, pecans and spinach and is just delicious. It’s great cold the next day too. I take it to work to have with my salad. For dinner we had it with roast Brussels sprouts and a cauliflower mash. No potatoes, just cauli and apple. Very, very nice.

Turkey meatloaf with roast Brussels sprouts and cauliflower mash.

Turkey meatloaf with roast Brussels sprouts and cauliflower mash.

We’ve had this a few times. The red chilli pesto is amazing. I usually make extra so I have some to take to work to have over my salad. Lots of yummy veggies with this meal.

Chicken with red chilli pesto, served with stir fried veg, including courgettes, carrots, pak choi and celery.

Chicken with red chilli pesto, served with stir fried veg, including courgettes, carrots, pak choi and celery.

Stephen had started demanding some lamb so I found this recipe in the book. I’d never heard of pomegranate molasses before but found some in Waitrose. The lamb turned out beautifully as did the slow-roasted veg. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten such a huge selection of veg before. We’re cooking so many different types and in lots of different ways.

Braised lamb in pomegranate molasses, served with slow-roasted veg: sweet potatoes, cauliflower and onions. Garnished with pomegranate seeds and parsley.

Braised lamb in pomegranate molasses, served with slow-roasted veg: sweet potatoes, cauliflower and onions. Garnished with pomegranate seeds and parsley.

I love salmon and have loved all the different recipes with it. This was cooked with the pomegranate molasses. Well, I have a whole bottle of it so I needed more recipes using it. I’m liking it very much as it adds a lovely flavour.

I’ve never really eaten asparagus or pak choi before but I’m making up for lost time now. Yum!

Grilled salmon with pomegranate molasses, served with roast tomatoes and sautéed asparagus and pak choi.

Grilled salmon with pomegranate molasses, served with roast tomatoes and sautéed asparagus and pak choi.

Ratatouille is something that I haven’t had before, mainly because I wasn’t sure if I liked aubergine. I didn’t like the look of it, to be honest. We’re both trying foods that we haven’t liked, or haven’t tried before though so I thought I’d make the ratatouille, especially as Tree recommended it. It was delicious. I’m definitely going to be making it again, and in a bigger batch so I have some to freeze. This lot did us two dinners. We had it with a nice piece of salmon on one day, and with turkey meatballs the next.

Ratatouille

Ratatouille

I’m still feeling the benefits of this new and improved diet. I’m getting fewer migraines still, and I think they’re getting less frequent by the week. I have so much energy. I can’t believe how good I feel. All of which is a massive incentive to carry on with it. I’ve got a few more interesting recipes planned for the weekend. I’m hoping my order of spices arrives soon as I want to cook up a huge pot of chilli. I have another recipe for that nice pomegranate molasses too. Fingers crossed it comes out as good as the lamb one did.

I’m thinking I may start taking the food photos with a proper camera instead of my phone. It’s handy using the WordPress app to upload straight from my phone but if I use a camera, it’ll be easier to lob the photos into Elements so I can tweak them a bit. Some look a bit washed out in this post. I can only assure you that they did look yummy, smell yummy and taste delicious 🙂

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

2 thoughts on “More on the healthy eating

  1. Oh yum – you’re making me hungry! What cut of meat did you use for the lamb? When I looked at the recipe the lamb bit was missing and on a quick internet search for similar recipes only came up with lamb shanks.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

