A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Rosti

2 Comments

A few months ago, if I’d been told that I’d be happily messing about in the kitchen and making some rather tasty meals, I’d have laughed. My husband trained as a chef many years ago and gradually took over the cooking when we married. It’s been a very long time since I cooked and I’d pretty much forgotten everything I knew.

Since we started the healthy eating/detox, I’ve been enjoying making our healthy meals and have gradually been getting more and more confident in the kitchen. I’m really happy with today’s dinner. I cooked spiced apple pork, which I’ve done before but the veg dish was a new one. I adapted it from a recipe in the Waitrose magazine.

The base of the dish is broccoli and carrots in a soft cheese sauce. We found some dairy-free soft cheese in Tesco which did the job nicely, and I used almond milk instead of the skimmed milk specified in the recipe. The topping should have been celeriac, which I haven’t used before but we couldn’t get any. Not to worry, I had some sweet potatoes so used those instead. I subbed a hot horseradish sauce for the cream one, and picked some parsley from my new herb garden.

Rosti01

It looked yummy even before it went into the oven but looked even better once it came out.

Rosti02

The veg were all cooked to perfection and the cheese added a lovely creamy taste and texture. It was delicious and happily there’s plenty left for tomorrow.

Rosti03

 

My version of the recipe:

Serves 4.

2 large carrots, sliced
1 head broccoli, cut into florets
3 medium sweet potatoes, coarsely grated
200g dairy-free soft cheese
50ml almond milk
2 tbsp hot horseradish sauce
small handful curly parsley, chopped

Preheat the oven to 220C. Cook the carrots and broccoli in a large pan of boiling water for 5 minutes. Remove the veg from the pan, and add the grated sweet potato to the same water. Cook for 3 minutes and then drain well.

Heat the soft cheese and milk in the pan until blended and then add the carrots and broccoli. Stir well to mix and then place in an ovenproof dish.

Mix the sweet potato with the horseradish and parsley and spoon carefully over the carrot & broccoli. Bake for 25 – 30 minutes until browned.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

2 thoughts on “Rosti

  1. celeriac is lovely, so definitely try it some time (think more winter veg though). it is especially nice fried is a bit of butter with salt and pepper. your rosti looks lovely, may have to try it!

    Like

    • Thanks for that. I’ll definitely try some celeriac once it’s in the shops 🙂

      The rosti was just as yummy the second time round. We had it with some Baked thyme cod for dinner today.

      Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

