A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

The log cabin afghan is finally finished

18 Comments

Hooray! This is the largest crochet project that I’ve ever undertaken, and at one point, I thought it’d never be finished. Finally it is though and I’m chuffed to bits with it.

I went for the wiggly design when putting it all together and I really like how it looks. Here it is, pretending to be a rug.

Finished01

And draped over a single bed. It’s quite a nice size for that.

Finished02

If that’s slightly out of focus, it’ll be because I was standing on a cushioned chair to get the right angle and I was wobbling a bit on the bouncy surface. Only a little wobble, I hasten to add. I was in no danger.

A close up of it when folded.

Finished04

And another to show the joins. I used that zip method which was very easy to do and I like the effect.

Finished03

One last photo of it in its new home – on the back of Stephen’s sofa. Now if he needs a quick nap, he can snuggleΒ under his blanket.

Finished05

I’ve got a fair bit of yarn left and I’m thinking of making a matching cushion with it. Not yet though as I’ve got a couple of other projects in progress and several more lined up.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

18 thoughts on “The log cabin afghan is finally finished

  1. Wow, it looks great. Very patchworky. I love that patchwork/crochet crossover. Well done. It’s the kind of project that can seem huge but I find it easier to view it in stages. Breaks it into smaller achievable chunks and makes it seem do-able.

    Like

    • Thanks πŸ™‚
      I did like doing it as granny squares. As you say, it made it seem more do-able, especially seeing the pile of completed squares growing.

      Like

  2. Absolutely beautiful, I love it – and what a smashing size it turned out.

    Like

  3. I knew this was going to be good when I saw the yarns you’d chosen. It’s much better than I ever imagined πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Wow Carole, that’s fantastic! I like the joining- haven’t heard of the zip method, but will look into it!

    Like

  5. And it’s gorgeous. Really gorgeous. Can’t wait to see what you make next.

    Like

  6. It’s wonderful! Well done!

    Like

  7. wow it looks fantastic! and so invitingly snuggly! πŸ™‚

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

