A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Jungle update – we have tomatoes!

10 Comments

I’d sort of resigned myself to not being able to grow any veggies until next year as there’s so much work still to be done on the garden. It may be a lot less jungle-like, but there’s a long way to go. Then, a couple of days ago, we were getting some groceries from Aldi and we spotted tomato plants. Nice big tomato plants for only £2.99 and £3.49. How could I resist?

Tomatoes02

These were the cheaper ones. We got two of these and potted them into slightly larger pots.

Then there were these.

Tomatoes01

Perfect to go on an old stand that was lurking at the back of the jungle, so we got four.

We both love tomatoes and enjoyed growing our own before the garden turned into the jungle so we can’t wait to start eating our own fresh fruits again.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

10 thoughts on “Jungle update – we have tomatoes!

  1. I haven’t got round to getting any Tomato plants this year and was thinking its a bit too late now. But maybe there is time yet! I have taken photos for a garden update post… Just had no time to post them!! Soon hopefully.

    Like

    • We’ve been to a large garden centre this morning and they had a good selection of decent sized tomato plants so there are some about still.
      I shall look out for your next update – with pics 🙂

      Like

  2. It’s a good start and bodes well for the future!

    Like

  3. Love that stand. I’ve always fancied growing the trailing tomatoes but have never got around to it…yet 🙂

    Like

  4. Good for you. Lucy

    Like

    • Thanks! There are some tiny tomatoes already on the plants, and I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited by the prospect of watching something grow before 🙂

      Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

