A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Food & Wine festival 2014

2 Comments

I cannot tell you how much I’m looking forward to snacking my way around the world again this year. I’ve been keeping an eye on all the rumours about the festival for months and have loved finding out what each marketplace booth will be selling. I’m hoping to sample at least one dish from each country this year so I’ve been looking hard at the menus and trying to decide which dishes I fancy the most. And trying not to pick just the puddings.

This is the food menu for this year, with the items that I fancy the most in red.

Africa
Beef Tenderloin Tips Berbere Style with Okra, Jalapeños, Tomato, and Pap
South African Bobotie with Turkey and Mushrooms 
I could happily eat either of these. I love African inspired food. Can’t wait to eat at Boma and Tusker House too.

Australia
Garlic Shrimp with Roasted Tomatoes, Lemon Myrtle and Rapini
Grilled Lamb Chop with Mint Pesto and Potato Crunchies
Pavlova – Crispy Meringue Shell with Fresh Berries and Vanilla Creme
Normally I’d go for the shrimp, but I had that last year. I’d like to try something new so lamb chop it is.

Belgium
Potato and Leek Waffle with Braised Beef
Belgian Waffle with Warm Chocolate Ganache and Whipped Cream
Belgian Waffle with Berry Compote and Whipped Cream
I never got around to trying anything from Belgium last year so must get there this time.

Brazil
Moqueca de Pescado – Regal Springs Fresh Tilapia featuring Coconut Lime Sauce and Steamed Rice
Crispy Pork Belly with Black Beans, Tomato, and Cilantro 
Pao de Queijo – Brazilian cheese bread
Cocadas – Brazilian coconut candy
I didn’t manage to try anything from Brazil last year either and I really fancied that pork belly. Luckily it’s there again so I may be making a beeline for it.

Canada
Canadian Cheddar Cheese Soup
Seared Rainbow Trout with Bacon, Frisee and Maple Minus 8 Vinaigrette
Le Cellier Wild Mushroom Beef Filet Mignon with Truffle Butter Sauce
I’ve had the rainbow trout and cheese soup here before so it has to be the beef. I have heard good things about it.

China
Beijing roasted duck in steamed bun with hoisin sauce
Beijing Roasted Duck in Hoisin Sauce
Mongolian Beef in Steamed Bun with Chili Mayo
Black Pepper Shrimp with Sichaun Noodles
Chicken Potstickers
I may have to make two trips here. I loved the steamed bun with the Mongolian beef in it last year, so I really want to try the duck version. I cannot resist shrimp though, so either a difficult choice or I try both. 

Desserts & Champagne
Dessert Trio: Passion fruit coconut creamsicle, blueberry lime cheesecake roll, and chocolate espresso opera cakeMine!
Guylian Belgian chocolate seashell truffles
Frozen S’mores featuring Monin® Toasted Marshmallow Syrup
I had the dessert trio from here last year. It’s a different selection this time so that seems like justification enough to try it. Last year’s was amazing.

Farm Fresh
Nueske’s Pepper Bacon Hash with sweet corn, potatoes, hollandaise and pickled jalapeño
Griddled Yard Bird with braised greens and house-made habanero sauce
The hash is getting great reviews and sounds delicious.

France
Tartelette aux escargots: Escargot tart with garlic, spinach, bacon and parmesan – No. Just no.
Gratin de crozet de savoie: Wheat pasta gratin with mushrooms and Gruyere cheese
Boeuf bourguignon: Braised short ribs in cabernet with mashed potatoes
Crème brûlée caramel fleur de sel: Sea salt caramel crème brûlée topped with caramelized sugar
I was about to highlight the pasta, but the dessert is salted caramel, one of my all time favourite flavours. It sounds divine!

Germany
Schinkennudeln: Pasta gratin with ham and cheese
Roast bratwurst in a pretzel roll
Berliner: Yeast doughnut filled with apricot jam
I quite like the sound of the bratwurst, but may also try the doughnut if only because I love apricot jam.

Greece
Vegetarian moussaka
Griddled Greek cheese with pistachios and honey
Chicken gyro with tzatziki Sauce
Spanakopita
I didn’t try any of those last year. I had A taste of Greece, which was lovely. The cheese has good reviews so I may have that this year.

Hawaii
Kālua Pork Slider with sweet and sour Dole Pineapple chutney and spicy mayonnaise 
Tuna Poke with seaweed salad and lotus root chips
I didn’t get around to visiting the Hawaii booth last year, but I’m determined to get one of those sliders this time.

Hops & Barley
Artisan cheese plate featuring Cabot Cloth wrapped cheddar, Purple Haze chèvre goat cheese and Cave Man blue cheese
Baked lobster alfredodefinitely
Florida grass-fed beef slider with pimento cheese
Fresh baked carrot cake with Craisins® and cream cheese icingmust try this!
I made a beeline for this stand last year to get the Lobster roll and the Bread pudding, both of which were divine. So much goodness there this year. I may try to fit in the slider as well as the lobster and carrot cake.

Ireland
Lobster and seafood fisherman’s pie
Kerrygold® cheese selection: Reserve cheddar, Dubliner with Irish Stout, and Skellig
Warm chocolate pudding with Kerrygold Irish Cream Liqueur Custard
I know I said I’d try not to include too many desserts, but come on! How can I not sample this?

Italy
Ravioli alla caprese: Cheese ravioli, tomato sauce, mozzarella, parmesan and basil
Filetto di pollo, con funghi al marsala: Chicken tenderloin, cremini mushrooms, marsala sauce and ciabatta bread 
Cannoli al cioccolato: Chocolate-covered cannoli filled with sweet ricotta, chocolate and candied fruit
I’ve never had a cannoli. I may remedy that this year, but I’ll probably start with the chicken as it sounds lovely.

Japan
Spicy hand roll: Tuna and salmon with Kazan Volcano sauce
Teriyaki gyoza bun: Steamed bun filled with chicken, vegetables and sweet teriyaki sauce 
Chirashizushi: Salmon, shrimp, crab and egg served over seaweed salad and ginger rice
I have never eaten at the Japan booth because the thought of sushi makes me feel ill. I might go there this year though and try that steamed bun.

Mexico
Shrimp taco: Fried shrimp, pickled habanero pepper and onions on a flour tortilla 
Rib eye taco: Marinated rib eye, roasted chipotle salsa and grilled scallions on a corn tortilla
Sweetcorn cheesecake
Stephen had the rib eye taco last year and it looked good. I think the shrimp one is calling to me. That cheesecake sounds good too though.

Morocco
Kefta pocket: Ground seasoned beef in a pita pocket
Spicy shrimp roll with cilantro and mint sauce 
Baklava
Shrimp and coriander. Yum!

New Zealand
Steamed green lip mussels with garlic butter and toasted bread crumbs 
Venison sausage with pickled mushrooms, baby arugula and black currant reduction
Lamb meatball with spicy tomato chutney – had this last year and it was extremely tasty
As I’ve had the meatballs and I don’t eat Bambi, it’ll be the mussels this time. I do like seafood. And garlic.

Patagonia
Beef empanada
Grilled beef skewer with chimichurri sauce and boniato purée
Roasted Verlasso salmon with quinoa salad and arugula chimichurri
Mmm, salmon. Mind you, I don’t think I’ve ever had an empanada so maybe two visits here?

Poland
Kielbasa and potato pierogi with caramelized onions and sour cream
Sauerkraut pierogi with pork goulash
Frozen Szarlotka (apple pie) featuring Zubrowka Bison Grass Vodka
Last year we had Zapiekanki here as well as the kielbasa and pierogi. My first taste of Polish food and I’m planning on going back for more this year. 

Puerto Rico
Ensalada de carrucho: Caribbean conch salad with onion, tomato and cilantro
Carne guisada con arroz blanco: Slow-braised beef with Puerto Rican-grown rice
Tostones (fried green plantains with mayo ketchup)
FlanCocho: Vanilla caramel custard with chocolate coffee cake
The salad sounds fab, but I can’t resist chocolate coffee cake.

Refreshment Port
Croissant Doughnut 
I’ve read quite a bit about the Cronut craze so I think I need to try the Disney version just to see what all the fuss is about.

Scotland
Vegetarian haggis with neeps and tatties: Griddled vegetable cake with rutabaga and mashed potatoes
Fresh potato pancake with smoked Scottish salmon and herb sour cream
Seared sea scallop with spinach-cheddar gratin and crispy bacon
Crannachan: A traditional Scottish dessert trifle with raspberries, toasted oats, and whipped cream
I like scallops, bacon, spinach and cheese so this one’s a no-brainer.

Singapore
Lemongrass chicken curry with coconut and jasmine rice
Seared mahi mahi with jasmine rice and Singa sauce
Stephen had the chicken curry last year but I didn’t get around to sampling anything from here. I do like curry so I may put that right this year.

South Korea
Kimchi dog with spicy mustard sauce
Roasted pork lettuce wrap with kimchi slaw 
I loved the kimchi dog last year so will have to try the lettuce wrap this time.

There’s more information on these dishes as well as some mouth-watering photos at one of my favourite blogs, The Disney Food Blog.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

2 thoughts on “Food & Wine festival 2014

  1. And now I’m hungry. 😉 Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

