A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

I love pumpkins!

6 Comments

I’ve been looking in the shops for a while now, waiting for the first pumpkins to make an appearance. Last week, I spotted some in the supermarket and grabbed one to bring home and play with.

Pumpkin

It was just a small one, weighing about 1.5 kg. I had plans for it, all of them edible. I really love the taste of pumpkin and I love that it’s so versatile. Pumpkin spice latte at Starbucks – yum! Pumpkin spice loaf – double yum. So many lovely things can be made with it. This is what I made with mine.

First I needed to try my hand at a pumpkin pie. I found a recipe for a slightly healthier version. It’s low sugar and has coconut milk in it, as well as ground flax. I had everything I needed in my cupboards, but I did cheat and buy the pastry case.

PumpkinPie01

It might not look much, but it tasted great, especially with a dollop of vanilla soy yoghurt on it. The recipe I used is here. I reduced the amount of sugar and made my own pumpkin purée instead of using a can.

I found some instructions on how to roast the seeds and adapted them slightly to make spicy pumpkin seeds. I added turmeric and curry powder and tossed them in olive oil before roasting. The instructions I used are here.

PumpkinSeeds

There were more than this, but I’m afraid I munched them. They were very more-ish.

When I made the pie, I had loads of mix left over. The recipe was for a larger pastry case so it was handy that I had another small one handy. This is pumpkin pie #2, with added pecans.

PumpkinPie02

It was scrumptious! I got more filling in this one by mounding it up a bit. I had no intention of wasting any so it was going to all fit in the case, whether it wanted to or not. Miraculously, it didn’t ooze over the edge, but stayed in a nice rounded shape.

I didn’t use all the pumpkin purée for the pies. I deliberately held back one cup of it for another recipe. Pumpkin bread pudding.

PumpkinBreadPudding

We were so keen to dive into this that half of it disappeared before I could take a photo. We had it with soy custard and it was delicious. The recipe I used is here. I added a tsp of ginger to it as I love ginger.

I’ve been looking online at several different websites about Disney, as I wanted to look at all the lovely food we can have. Today I came across a post with pumpkin ice-cream in it. It can be served in a macaron sandwich or in a pressed brioche. I really, really have to try it.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

6 thoughts on “I love pumpkins!

  1. My mum uses the Pumpkin purée to make “pain d’épices” 🙂

    Like

  2. Wow! That pumpkin went a long way. Looks delicious 🙂

    Like

    • I’m quite pleased with how much I made with it.

      I have my eye on some pumpkin cobbler while we’re on holiday. One of the places that we like to eat at has it as a fall special. Yum.

      Like

  3. You’ve been very busy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. your pumplin pie with pecans looks yummy!!!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

