A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Animal Kingdom and Olive Garden

3 Comments

I had a second birthday today. We didn’t spend much time in Disney yesterday, apart from our resort, so I had my Disney birthday today and wore by birthday badge. We went to Animal Kingdom for early entry so were there at a few minutes after 8am. As usual we made a bee line for the Safari and went on twice before park opening at 9am. We took one or two photos, which I’m sure you guessed. This was our last full day at Disney so here are the last Safari photos of the trip.

Black Rhino

Black Rhino

White Rhino

White Rhino

I’m pleased with the photo of the Black Rhino, with his reflection and I love that we got a shot of some of the White Rhinos all lined up like that.

Sable Antelope

Sable Antelope

Hippo

Hippo

I’ve been trying to get a reasonable photo of the Sable Antelope for ages, and that’s the best I’ve managed. They’re either on the other side of the truck or hiding in the grass. That’s the first time we’ve seen a hippo all the way out of the water.

Giraffe

Giraffe

Mandrills

Mandrills

That giraffe was really close to the truck. We could almost have reached out and touched him. The shot of the apes is a bit blurred but they are so hard to get a photo of. We have lots of shots of Monkey’s point with blurred black blobs in it so this one isn’t bad by comparison. I’ve posted it as there was a humorous situation. We had a truck load of kids, as usual and a split second after this photo was taken, the Mandrill on the right leapt onto the other one and started doing something not suitable for minors, if you get my drift. There was a stunned silence on the truck and then the driver quickly pulled away saying “Time to go see the Elephants now, I think!” Most of the adults on the truck were highly amused.

Cheetah

Cheetah

cheetah

cheetah

Both the Cheetahs were on the move today so we got a few reasonable shots. We’ve been really lucky this year and have seen them most times we’ve gone on Safari.

After we’d done both Safaris we went to get coffee. While I was waiting at the window to pick up our drinks, the server noticed that I was wearing a Birthday badge and wished me a happy birthday. He vanished for a moment and reappeared with this.

Elephant Ears

Elephant Ears

He put it down in front of me and said it was for me, for my birthday. Wasn’t that lovely? It was on two plates too so ready for us to share, which we did. It was very nice.

We went for a stroll around the Pangani Forest Trail and we saw some Elds deer and Blackbuck. They were quite close to the wall so we got several good photos.

Elds Deer

Elds Deer

The Asian tigers were hiding today but we got a terrific view of this Sumatran tiger.

Sumatran tiger

Sumatran tiger

Isn’t she beautiful! She’s three years old and is the most gorgeous deep bronze colour. She has such a lovely face too.

gibbon

Siamang

We watched the Gibbons playing for a while. They were swinging all around their island and playing with various hanging toys. Then we made our way to the theatre where my favourite show is and watched it for the second time this trip.

Nemo, the musical

Nemo, the musical

I love that show so much. The performers and the way they interact with the puppets, the colours, the costumes and the music. All fabulous! I was a bit sad that it was our last time in Animal Kingdom so on the way out, we picked up this to keep me going until we can return.

NemoCD
We went back to the Beach Club and did most of the packing before heading out to Olive Garden for lunch. We’ve never been there before but it gets good reviews and the menu online looked very nice indeed. Both of our entrees came with soup. I had a Chicken & Gnocci as I’ve never had Gnocci before. It was delicious. Really creamy with melt in your mouth chicken pieces. Stephen had a dense, vegetable-filled Minestrone.

For our entrees, Stephen had Garlic rosemary chicken, and I had Grilled chicken on creamy Alfredo linguine, tossed with butternut squash. Both were excellent. I was quite full after that but really fancied a dessert so I had one of their Dolcini desserts, a tiramisu. Stephen had a full size dessert, the Black Tie Mousse cake.

BlackTie tiramisu

Our server was brilliant. She decided that Stephen’s cake was a bit small so only charged us for another Dolcini, which knocked about $5 off the bill. She was pleasant and friendly throughout our whole meal, not rushing us, but not neglecting us either. I tipped well 🙂

We finished the day by popping down to Epcot to say goodbye. We had a last go on Test Track and the last Disney ride of this holiday was at Soarin. That was sad as I really love Soarin and that’s probably the last time we’ll see it like that. They’re going to change the film to something like Soarin over the world instead of California. I’m sure the new one will be great but I’ll still miss the original.

On the way back to our villa, we stopped into one of the communal rooms and had a few games of pool. Stephen won the best of three, but I did win the first game.

Tomorrow we say goodbye to Disney World. I’m quite sad about that.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

3 thoughts on “Animal Kingdom and Olive Garden

  1. I love your choice of desserts. It is sad to say goodbye to your holiday at Disney World. You said you won’t be back for a couple of years? Well, Happy Birthday again and enjoy your last hours there and safe trip home. Lucy

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

