A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Something different

8 Comments

I spotted some crochet on FaceBook that was done using a technique that I don’t think I’ve seen before. It looked stunning so I Googled it and found a YouTube video that showed you how to do it. I had a little play with some scrap yarn, and once I’d got the hang of it, I made a mini blanket for one of Sammie’s little hidey-holes.

The technique is Entrelac and is a type of Tunisian crochet. It’s really easy once you’ve got the hang of it. I just need to practise more to get the tension right as I think you need to use a larger hook than you would normally.

This is my first attempt.

SmallSquare

Some of the internal corner joins are a bit loose, but you can see it improving as I did the rounds. I did forget to put the corners on – doh! – but I’m calling that a feature.

SmallSquarecu

I love the texture of it. It’s quite thick and the back looks more like knitting. I’m thinking it’d make a splendid poncho as it’d be really warm. Something to add to my wish list.

Link to YouTube video

 

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

8 thoughts on “Something different

  1. I’ve seen this but haven’t tried it, yet. I think I will make this a technique to learn this year. I like your “feature.” 🙂

    Like

  2. it does look like an interesting technique. I’m yet to try Tunisian crochet, I had some of the hooks on my wish list but Santa didn’t bring them this year

    Like

  3. It looks great! I love texture too. This would make a lovely bedside rug with really thick yarn.

    Like

  4. Your mini blanket is fabulous! I have never seen that type of crochet either, but it looks like it would be quite warm and sturdy. I’m not that great of a crocheter, but I may have to try this one day. Great job!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

