A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Precious Dreams

2 Comments

I’ve been enjoying stitching this, and was excited when after 2000+ stitches, I finally got to a different colour to the dark navy. At one point I had all of four colours going at the same time. Woot!

PD-02

Unfortunately, I’ve decided that I don’t like the coverage. I thought it looked a bit thin not long after starting but I was kidding myself that it would be fine looked at from arm’s length instead of through the Maglight. I’m not chuffed about restarting this after doing so many stitches, but better now than not love it when it’s finished. Sigh.

See how the khaki fabric is showing through?

PD-01

I’m not sure at this point what I’m going to do. I’m thinking about trying tent stitch instead of full crosses, which would be on either 25 or 28 count. I’ve got some suitable 28 count so I’m going to try it out on there and if it’s too tight, I’ll order some 25 count magic guide fabric. The other option is full crosses on Hardanger, which is 22 count. I may have some of that to play with so I can test that out too.

One thing is certain. I’m not going to abandon this. I love the design far too much for that.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

2 thoughts on “Precious Dreams

  1. It’s a reasonably large piece and, once you have it framed (my framer always puts an appropriate colour card BEHIND the stitching), I don’t think you’ll have anything to worry about. Looking forward to seeing your progress.

    Like

    • You’re probably right but I don’t want to take the chance. I’ve tried a few combinations this evening and have settled on tent stitch 2 over 1 on 28 count. I’ll be restarting it soon and the khaki 18 count will do nicely for one of the many other charts that I have 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

