A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Flower Sampler Book – Pattern darning

11 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs.

I only just got this finished in time for the SAL post. I was doing the last bit of darning and the hemstitch late last night, but I really didn’t want to post an update with it not quite completed.

FSB14-01I rather like the effect of the pattern darning and it was fun to do. The left side has an assortment of things on it. There’s a vine running up the side, with a bit of darning in it. There’s a bit of cross stitch in the corner and for the foliage and some very simple darning in the flower. The centre panel has some blocks of different patterns of darning. The centre of the flower is done in Bullion knots. Not my favourite thing to do, but they didn’t come out too badly.

FSB14-03The right side is all about that large flower with several different patterns in the petals, plus a fair bit of cross stitch in the leaves and the corners. There’s a caterpillar made from another Bullion knot and a French knot. I’m rather pleased with him. I still need to attach a small charm, but needed to get it pressed first.

FSB14-02All the stitching is done on this now. I just need to sew the inside covers in place, do a bit of titivating – beads and charms, and sew the double pages in half. Then they get attached to the cover and it’s done. I’m hoping to get that lot finished for the next update in three weeks.

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

Avis at Sewing beside the sea
Claire at Claire93
Kate at Tall tales from Chiconia
Gun at Rutigt
Alison at Minerva’s meanderings
Jule at From the boudoir
Elizabeth at Garden 4 therapy
Wendy at The crafter’s apprentice
Lucy at Lucyannluna

Do pop over and have a look at their beautiful creations.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

11 thoughts on “Flower Sampler Book – Pattern darning

  1. it looks lovely! pattern darning is such an interesting technique, but isn’t one I’ve tried. I look forward to seeing the book all finished

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is lovely, really pretty and accomplished stitchery. That caterpillar is exactly the kind of tiny detail I love!

    Like

  3. Oh this is really really charming!

    Like

  4. This is a real gem. I love the textures created by the different stitches. Please, please, please make a gallery or a slide show of all the pages in your final post or later. It would be lovely to see all of the needle skills in one place. I love it!

    Like

  5. This pattern is just so gorgeous – I really love it and can’t wait to see it all completed. That caterpillar too is just so cute! Well done!
    Alison x

    Like

  6. really pretty! totally different style to your other pages

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

