A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Flower Sampler Book – Assembly #1

17 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs.

I hesitate to call this an update as I’ve made hardly any progress. I’m tempted to blame my craft room sort out as that has taken a lot of my time over the past couple of weeks. I could also blame the cat as Sammie was very clingy for a couple of weeks after her operation, and took up residence next to me on the sofa.

I won’t though, as I could have done some stitching if I’d really wanted to. The truth is that I’m a bit intimidated by the assembly of this book, that has taken me so long to stitch. This is the one page that I’ve done so far.

FSBassembly-01Each double page has to be folded in half and teeny-tiny stitches are done all around the outside edges to close it. I’m stitching in ecru thread, joining ecru stitches that are on ecru fabric. It’s really difficult to see, even with a mag-light. I managed to do the one above in one night, but couldn’t face doing another. I haven’t picked it up since.

Two of the pages need a piece of fabric inserted between them, but there are no instructions on how to secure it, so I’m not quite sure what I’m doing with those. The single pages need to have their edges folded over so they’re the same size as the inside cover, then they get stitched in place. I’m struggling a bit with the folding to size bit. I may do a row of hemstitch around the outside which will be a guide.

I will get this finished, and hopefully in time for the next update, but I’m making no promises.

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

Avis at Sewing beside the sea
Claire at Claire93
Kate at Tall tales from Chiconia
Gun at Rutigt
Alison at Minerva’s meanderings
Jule at From the boudoir
Elizabeth at Garden 4 therapy
Wendy at The crafter’s apprentice
Lucy at Lucyannluna

Do pop over and have a look at their beautiful creations.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

17 thoughts on “Flower Sampler Book – Assembly #1

  1. It´s lovely and I love the little caterpillar on the right leaf!!!!
    Gun

    Like

  2. I found your blog by clicking on links from Avis and LucyAnn and others in your group. You all do such beautiful work and I am inspired by it. Cross stitch is a huge passion of mine.

    Like

  3. Keep going – it will be so worth it in the end…..looking really lovely!
    Alison x

    Like

  4. I can feel your angst and frustration with this project, but I do hope you plow through. Has it been cloudy and gloomy in your part of the world lately? Perhaps some sunshine is the remedy!

    Like

    • It has been gloomy today but we’ve had a couple of lovely sunny days. They don’t help, as I tend to go for walks if the weather is nice, so less stitching time 😛

      Like

  5. I find the finishing bit difficult to get motivated for as well. I think it’s because I prefer doing the colourful, cheerful bits. It’ll be worth it in the end 🙂

    Like

    • You’re right. The pretty bits are so much more fun to do. The finishing in this is all done with ecru and is very fiddly. It’s getting there though 🙂

      Like

  6. I hope you find your embroidery mojo again – this is too beautiful to leave unfinished. Maybe now that you have all that lovely empty space in your work area…?

    Like

    • Unfortunately the empty space isn’t helping the cross stitch. I’ve rediscovered my scrapping mojo and have bits of paper spread over one desk. The other has a mini quilt that I’m optimistic about finishing. All the cross stitch is done in the living room on the comfy sofa, which is where I’ve been all afternoon. The embarrassment of posting just one finished page has prompted me to get a crack on with the rest of it 😛

      Like

  7. looking good Carole – the assembly part is always the most daunting

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

