A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

McLaren & Hamilton – cross stitch

24 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs.

Hooray! It’s finished. One cross-stitched Lewis Hamilton in his McLaren F1 racing car. The last section was stitched while binge-watching Nashville.

Hamilton300515I’ve really put in some hours on this over the past week. I did the final few stitches last night as I was determined to finish it in time for the SAL update. It looks a tad wonky but that’s probably because I pressed it really quickly to try to catch the last of the natural light for a photo. It’ll straighten up once I frame it. (whenever that may be)

I had my little helper with me several times while working on this. He’s very good when I’m stitching and apart from the odd half-hearted swipe at the dangling threads, he pretty much ignores it and goes to sleep.

Frodo300515-01b

I’m now torn between starting a new project for the SAL, pulling out yet another old abandoned project, or maybe moving the African Sampler to the SAL. I think it may be the latter, and then I can concentrate on putting some more stitches into the dreaming cat one too.

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

Avis at Sewing beside the sea
Claire at Claire93
Kate at Tall tales from Chiconia
Gun at Rutigt
Alison at Minerva’s meanderings
Jule at From the boudoir
Elizabeth at Garden 4 therapy
Wendy at The crafter’s apprentice
Lucy at Lucyannluna
Cathy at Nanacathydotcom

Do pop over and have a look at their beautiful creations.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

24 thoughts on “McLaren & Hamilton – cross stitch

  1. I would not do cross stitch but I admire anybody who can finish one of those. A coworker of mine spent six months on one. I also know what it is like to have a furry gold companion while I am working.

    Like

  2. haha! My cat Neko lays on my lap underneath the cross stitch frame. She’ll bite the thread though when I’m starting a brand new stitch…then up comes wet thread ;p

    Like

  3. Well done on the finish, it looks great!

    Like

  4. Wow, that was quick! Congrats on finishing this great project. 🙂

    Like

  5. Yey! What a great finish 🙂 Looking forward to the next one already.

    Like

  6. Congratulations on a fine finish! Bring out the checkered flag. Woo hoo!!!

    Like

  7. Congrats!!!!! And your kitten is sooooooo cute 🙂

    Like

  8. Oh, well done! Can’t wait to see what you’re working on next.

    Like

  9. That car looks a real mean beast. I can hear the squeal o f the tryes and smell the fumes!

    Like

  10. oooh a happy dance! well done! look forward to seeing which project you move into this slot

    Like

  11. Looks fantastic, that’s another finished object. Well done

    Like

  12. Woot! Congratulations on finishing it 🙂

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

