A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

SAL – African Sampler #03

19 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs.

I was a bit worried that I wouldn’t be able to do an update this time, as my finger has been too sore to grip a needle since it had the run-in with the mandoline. I tried stitching with a padded plaster on it a few days ago, but didn’t have the dexterity that I’d normally have. I didn’t realise how my fingers worked with that needle until they couldn’t. When I finally managed to do some stitching yesterday, I watched and noticed that my index finger twirls the needle round to put it back through the fabric. It’s amazing what you do without realising, isn’t it.

So, as I finished the McLaren/Hamilton project last time, I needed something new for the SAL. I decided to move the African sampler into this slot as it’s got panels and rows so I’ll have something definite to aim at each time.

I’ve managed to finish the planned section for this update, which is the third panel.

African Sampler - 05The middle jar should have had backstitch around the diamond pattern, but after doing half of it, I frogged it as I liked it better without.

All the panels are done now and this is what they all look like.

African Sampler - 06Above and below this are rows of various patterns or different things. I can’t decide whether to work down first, and do the elephants, or go up and do a pattern followed by some fish. Hopefully whichever I choose, I’ll get a full row done for the next update.

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

Avis at Sewing beside the sea
Claire at Claire93
Kate at Tall tales from Chiconia
Gun at Rutigt
Alison at Minerva’s meanderings
Jule at From the boudoir
Elizabeth at Garden 4 therapy
Wendy at The crafter’s apprentice
Lucy at Lucyannluna
Cathy at NanaCathydotcom
Jacqui at The stitching line
Jess at Ever the crafter

Not everyone does an update each time, but their blogs are always worth a visit.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

19 thoughts on “SAL – African Sampler #03

  1. I vote up, for pretty much no reason whatsoever! Looking good so far 🙂

    Like

  2. Looks fantastic, keep going on Carole! ❤

    Like

  3. Ouch! I know that it is good to have protein with our meals but this is taking it a bit too far 😉 I love the new sampler and I’d like to see some elephants too 🙂

    Like

  4. Looks great, like the African theme, I would love to see some elephants

    Like

  5. I love the hen on her head 🙂 This is gonna be so exciting to follow!

    Like

  6. I so hope you choose the elephant first. I love the African theme. Hope your finger is better soon. I shall watch how I stitch now!

    Like

  7. I agree, sections are an easy way to cut it into parts for a SAL.
    hope your finger is back to normal

    Like

  8. This is a good looking project! Looking forward to watching this pattern grow!
    Alison x

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

