A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Owls with friends

3 Comments

Last Wednesday I went to Birmingham with Jackie and Fliss, so we could go owl hunting. We started off at The Custard Factory in Digbeth and found all the owls there. I think my favourite was one called Through new eyes.

Through new eyes

Through new eyes

There were several small ones dotted about and one more large one. We had to scan his QR code from a card in reception though as he was on the roof and there was no access to him. We were told that he’s visible from the train but we thought it was a bit extreme to go and catch a train just to get a good view of him. We did catch a distant glimpse of him as we walked up to the city centre though.

When we got into town, we had a look at the ones in and around St. Martins. I rather liked this one, called Beorma.

Beorma

Beorma

It was getting a bit damp at this point, and we fancied a coffee so we headed up towards the Bullring to go to Druckers. We passed this chap on the way. I like how he’s situated with the Selfridges building in the background.

Selfie

Selfie

After we’d had coffee and cake, and watched the rain get heavier through the windows, we went to find the next two owls inside the Bullring centre.

This one is The Owl and the Pussycat

The Owl and the Pussycat

The Owl and the Pussycat

Next we braved the rain and headed up New Street, where we found one of the owls that I particularly wanted to see – Ozzy’s Owl. He is brilliant.

Ozzy's Owl

Ozzy’s Owl

He had a friend nearby called Re-tail, and I rather liked him too.

Re-tail

Re-tail

We walked up to Victoria Square, where we found these beauties.

Unity within diversity with the Floozie in the jacuzzi Lady in the garden in the background. (The water feature hasn’t worked for ages, so they’ve given up for now and planted a garden in there instead.)

Unity within diversity

Unity within diversity

The New Street Flyer. I love this one, pretty colours and lovely detail.

New Street flyer

New Street flyer

Active owl. I love the artwork on this one, especially the silhouette.

Active Owl

Active Owl

And finally Tick-tock. One of my favourites as the colours are incredible.

Tick-tock

Tick-tock

There are lots more owls to show you, but I’ll do a separate post for the rest. I had a brilliant day with my friends. Lots of chat and even more walking. I had the Map my Walk app running from when we got off the bus in Digbeth to when we got back on in town and we were slightly stunned to find out that we’d walked almost ten miles. No wonder we were getting a bit weary by the end.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

3 thoughts on “Owls with friends

  1. I didn’t realise the owls were that big! They really are all gorgeous.
    I rather like Re-tail

    Like

  2. Tick tock is my favorite.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

