A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

SAL – African Sampler #08

12 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs.

Finally, finally, that blasted zebra print stripe is finished. Hooray!

African Sampler - 14
There’s a row of backstitch between the two zebra stripes, which will have gold metallic wrapped around it. I’ve decided that maybe it would look better with the metallic so have ordered some of the only brand that’s reasonably nice to stitch with – Kreinik. I’ll also redo the bit from higher up that should be metallic. I did it in a gold-yellow as the metallic that I had was vile to use.

The problem that I’m struggling with now is, that the upper row of zebra is wrong. I mentioned in an earlier post that I’d managed to stitch the left page on the right side and only realised when the next page didn’t match up. Now that it’s all finished, I can see that it really would look better if I redid the upper row correctly, as the two rows should match up. Shall I or shan’t I? How much will it bug me if I don’t? I think I may have to, you know. Sigh.

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

Avis at Sewing beside the sea
Claire at Claire93
Kate at Tall tales from Chiconia
Gun at Rutigt
Jule at From the boudoir
Elizabeth at Garden 4 therapy
Wendy at The crafter’s apprentice
Lucy at Lucyannluna
Cathy at NanaCathydotcom
Jacqui at The stitching line
Jess at Ever the crafter

Not everyone does an update each time, but their blogs are always worth a visit.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

12 thoughts on “SAL – African Sampler #08

  1. I love the row of elephants!

    Like

  2. Now I can see how they should have lined up because you have told us but I wouldn’t have noticed otherwise. If it were me, I’d have to do it again but I’d definitely finish the rest first. See how you feel at the end. It’s such an unusual and interesting design.

    Like

    • I love the design as it reminds me of Animal Kingdom at Disney, and the designer has several others that I’m looking at as possible future purchases.
      I may well have to redo that stripe, but I’ll wait and see how I feel later. I’m not going to rush and frog it all until I’m sure 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. If you haven´t mentioned it, I wouldn´t have known! So, I think it´s all up to you, cause only you will know 🙂

    Like

  4. Sadly, I think you’ll always notice it and be annoyed by it unless you fix it. Unless you can arrange for it to live with someone else so you don’t need to look at it…? It doesn’t look wrong to me, but then I don’t know what it ‘should’ look like.

    Like

  5. Well done you finished all those stripes

    Like

  6. well done ^^
    only you will know that the stripes were meant to line up, so it all dépends on you. Are you a prefectionist, or not?

    Like

    • I can be a bit of a perfectionist, but I can also be a bit impatient to get things finished, so it could go either way. I shall do some of the other stripes while I decide 🙂

      Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

