A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

SAL – African Sampler #09

11 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs.

I have done almost no stitching over the past few weeks. All I’ve done is one row on the African sampler. My hours at work have been increased (hooray!) and I’m shattered when I get home. I did enjoy doing this row though as it was fairly quick and had lots of pretty colours in it.

African Sampler - 15I also did the bit between the zebra stripes. It’s a line of black backstitch with gold thread wrapped around it. It’s quite pretty but you can’t see the effect too well from the photo.

This is what the whole thing looks like now.

African Sampler - 16It’s definitely growing but there’s a lot to do still. As I’m not getting as much stitching time at the moment, I’ve decided to put my other two current WIPs away for now and just concentrate on this one.

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

Avis at Sewing beside the sea
Claire at Claire93
Kate at Tall tales from Chiconia
Gun at Rutigt
Jule at From the boudoir
Wendy at The crafter’s apprentice
Lucy at Lucyannluna
Cathy at NanaCathydotcom
Jacqui at The stitching line
Jess at Ever the crafter

Not everyone does an update each time, but their blogs are always worth a visit.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

11 thoughts on “SAL – African Sampler #09

  1. It´s coming along great!

    Like

  2. Every new row is a lovely surprise 🙂 I also like the gold thread through the back stitch idea.

    Like

  3. all thse bright colours add lots of “zing” ^^

    Like

  4. Progress is progress, we are all busy people

    Like

  5. I think the comment you left for me applies equally well to you! All progress is good, and if I had your good sense to leave a couple of the things I’m working on aside and concentrate on one, I’d do a lot better. Is there more of this sampler at the top? The zebra striping is so strong my eye keeps asking for something to balance it at the top.

    Like

    • Oh yes, there’s a lot more to do. Just a bit more at the bottom and then quite a bit at the top. Those panels that I started with are about central with possibly a bit more below them than above. I can’t wait to get to the last section at the top as it’s my favourite part 🙂

      Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

