A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

SAL – African Sampler #11

18 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs.

I’ve redone that zebra stripe that I wasn’t very happy with. It looks much, much better now.

This is what it looked like before.

African Sampler - 19a

And this is it now.

African Sampler - 19See how it matches up now? Big improvement. I’m really glad that I frogged it and did it over. It was going to bug me otherwise.

So, this is what it all looks like now.

African Sampler - 20Just above the elephants there’s some backstitch that should have been done in metallic, but the stuff that I had was vile to stitch with so I did it in yellow/gold thread instead. Now that I’ve bought some Kreinik, I shall redo that as I think it’ll look a lot better.

After that I’ll start working my way up from the panels, with the next row being some fish. Very pretty fish.

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

Avis at Sewing beside the sea
Claire at Claire93
Kate at Tall tales from Chiconia
Gun at Rutigt
Jule at From the boudoir
Wendy at The crafter’s apprentice
Lucy at Lucyannluna
Cathy at NanaCathydotcom
Jacqui at The stitching line
Jess at Ever the crafter

Not everyone does an update each time, but their blogs are always worth a visit.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

18 thoughts on “SAL – African Sampler #11

  1. Great progress on your sampler. The stripes looked fine before. But they do look very nice all lined up. Great job!

    Like

  2. I thought the zebra stripes looked good before but now you’ve redone it they really do look great! I admire your diligence

    Like

  3. That’s a big improvement and worth doing, even though it always feels like you’ve wasted so much time stitching and unpicking. i love the Kreinik ribbons that I’ve used on canvaswork before. If the floss is as good as their ribbon, it’ll work a treat 🙂 Good luck!

    Like

  4. I agrre with you. It looks much better now! I´m glad you took the time to redo it 🙂

    Like

  5. oh yes! much better ^^

    Like

  6. Yes, looking much better. Good luck with the Kreinik floss, hope this brand will work. 🙂

    Like

  7. Yes, definitely much better!

    Like

  8. It does look so much better. It’s going to look fantastic

    Like

  9. Yes, well, I can quite see why it was bugging you if that’s what it was supposed to look like. Good decision! I feel your pain with the metallic thread, which I’ve been having a special time with myself – but what is Kreinik?

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

