A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

The Christmas tree

10 Comments

We don’t usually bother much with Christmas, and we haven’t had a tree for years. This year though, we’ve bought a small tree as we thought the cats might enjoy it. And we, of course, enjoy watching the cats enjoy things.

Frodo seemed quite interested in it when we were setting it up and got stuck right into helping us.

Frodo131215-03_bHe also liked chasing after the shatterproof baubles after Sammie pulled the box over, making them all fall out of it. Eventually we got the tree assembled and dressed with the baubles and some tinsel. Frodo took up position beneath it, just to keep an eye on it.

Xmas tree - 05_bAs well as the baubles, we’d hung on some of the small toys that we’d been collecting for them ready for Christmas. There were assorted mice and some balls and small fluffy toys.

Xmas tree - 06_bBoth cats seemed to really like the tree, especially the tinsel, which parted company with the tree several times over the course of the next day. (Sammie is pulling some of it off as I type this.)

Then I got around to wrapping their presents. There were more than I expected when I got them all out of the bag, where we’d been storing them as weย added to the pile. I think we may have got a bit carried away…

Xmas tree - 04_bThe wibbly, wobbly mini tree was going to be wrapped, but I thought it might be easier to just let them have it. I put several of the smaller presents into the tree. Some were done as mini crackers. One of the cats obviously approved of that idea and decided to open one early.

Xmas tree - 01_bSammie may have a guilty face in this photo, but we’re pretty sure that it was Frodo who made the mess. Not that it’s a problem, as we’d expected something like this and it is all for the cats anyway. Frodo is very fond of ripping paper up so I’m thinking he had a grand old time with that.

There may be more photos to come, especially when we help them to open any presents that may be still intact on Christmas day.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

10 thoughts on “The Christmas tree

  1. I’m sure the cats had a grand time watching (and getting in the way) of the new tree and decorations. And someone did have fun getting an early present ๐Ÿ˜‰ I bet they are fun to watch.

    Like

  2. a Christmas tree, with cats, is just asking for trouble ^^

    Like

  3. Ahhh, these cats makes me laugh ๐Ÿ™‚ This year we bought the smallest tree we could find. Never had one before, so itยดs gonna be interesting to see how my cats will react on it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Are you worried they’ll eat some of the tinsel? I think sometimes I might just be overly protective of what the cats eat or could eat or might eat… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. I wonder how Frodo and Sammie would fair climbing our Monkey puzzle tree?! https://diggingfordirt.wordpress.com/2015/12/01/the-christmas-tree-question/ Let us know what you think…

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

