A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

SAL – African Sampler #12

16 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs.

I’ve made a little progress since the last update, but not as much as I’d hoped. I’ve done the row of fishes above the centre panels and started the decorative rows above it. The blue row will have beads in it once I’ve finished the rest.African Sampler - 21

This is where it’s up to now.

African Sampler - 22There’s one more section to do after I’ve finished the decorative rows, but it’s a big one. It’s also my favourite part of the sampler, which is why I’ve left it until last.

Maybe I’ll have a finished sampler, beads and all, for the next update. Anything is possible 🙂

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

Avis at Sewing beside the sea
Claire at Claire93
Kate at Tall tales from Chiconia
Gun at Rutigt
Jule at From the boudoir
Wendy at The crafter’s apprentice
Lucy at Lucyannluna
Cathy at NanaCathydotcom
Jacqui at The stitching line
Jess at Ever the crafter

Not everyone does an update each time, but their blogs are always worth a visit.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

16 thoughts on “SAL – African Sampler #12

  1. I like the fishes. Well I like the whole embroidery. There are so many nice things to look at!

    Like

  2. Great fishes 🙂 No hurry to finish for next time but it’ll be good if you manage.

    Like

  3. it’s amazing how fast this has grown simply be stitching in stages

    Like

  4. I love the fish 🙂

    Like

  5. The fish are lovely and the whole piece is really coming together. My favourites remain the elephants! Really nice.

    Like

  6. I love the fish, they are great.

    Like

  7. The fish are gorgeous – a lot of detail for such small creatures. I’m really looking forward to seeing your favourite part. I’m with you on leaving the best for last!

    Like

    • This sampler has been lovely to stitch, with all the different sections, but the top row is the main reason that I bought the pattern. It reminds me of Animal Kingdom, one of my favourite places in the world. I can’t wait to share the finished piece 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Looking great! I completely failed to do an update this time. Christmas just got in the way!

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

