A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

SAL – African Sampler #13

23 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs and I have a finish. Hooray!

This is the final row on the sampler, and it’s definitely my favourite.

African Sampler - 26The beads and metallic thread have been added to the lower section.

African Sampler - 25And to the upper section.

African Sampler - 24Which means that it’s all finished!

African Sampler - 23And yes, it’s the photo that’s wonky, not the stitching. I’m definitely going to get a frame for this one soon so it can go on the wall. It’s much too nice to go in the box with the others. I’m thinking it’ll look great displayed with the prints of Animal Kingdom that we bought a few years ago.

I’m carrying on with Rose Boudoir next and am trying to resist the temptation to start something new. Maybe if I complete that one soon, I can have a new start then.

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

Avis at Sewing beside the sea
Claire at Claire93
Kate at Tall tales from Chiconia
Gun at Rutigt
Jule at From the boudoir
Wendy at The crafter’s apprentice
Lucy at Lucyannluna
Cathy at NanaCathydotcom
Jacqui at The stitching line
Jess at Ever the crafter

Not everyone does an update each time, but their blogs are always worth a visit.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

23 thoughts on “SAL – African Sampler #13

  1. Hurray! Congrats on the finish! I really love how it turned out 🙂 Can’t wait to see it framed.

    Like

  2. Congrats on the finish! It does look awesome and the final row is definitely the perfect addition. Great job!

    Like

  3. Oh wow! The landscape silhouette part is amazing! So pretty, it’s my favourite bit too. Although I like the zebra print bit a lot too.

    Like

  4. A great design, congrats on the finish! Looking forward to seeing Rose Boudoir grow 🙂

    Like

  5. I didn’t expect a silhouette but it’s a perfect top line 🙂 I still adore those elephants and the fishes too. Well done on another finish!

    Like

  6. Yay well done! The top row is my favourite too

    Like

  7. metallic threads and beads! add a lovely bit of bling. Well done!

    Like

  8. You saved the best bit till last. Love the silhouette of the giraffe. Well done you!

    Like

  9. I agree with you, that top row’s my favourite too! Glad it’s not getting hidden away, hanging it on the wall is a great idea.

    Like

  10. that silhouette is gorgeous! Well done for finishing it 🙂

    Like

  11. Well done you finished it. It looks fantastic.

    Like

  12. Congratulations on the finish! I’ve enjoyed watching this come together, and the results are most worthy of being proud of.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

