A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

SAL – Douceur de vivre #1

18 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs and this week I have a new start. I did consider using the SAL to finish Rose Boudoir, but then I realised it was a perfect excuse to start another project. And you know that I need very little encouragement.

I bought this one ages ago from Jardin Prive. It’s a French site, hence the name, Douceur de vivre, which I think means Sweetness of life. I’m sure someone can confirm or correct that.

I like the colours used in it. It’s a nice mixture and I think they go together beautifully. This is what my starting stash looked like.

SoLstashI’m doing it on a 32 count linen, which is so much easier to do with my brighter new light. I wouldn’t have tackled anything more taxing than 28 count evenweave before.

I’ve started by doing the grid and will probably fill in the squares next, followed by the border. I’m itching to do the border first, but even though I’ve checked, double-checked and triple-checked the count on the grid, I’m convinced that if I do the border first, I’ll end up having to frog it all because somewhere it’ll be one stitch out. If I start in the middle and work out, at least any miscounts will only result in the grid being frogged.

SoL-01That two-stitch gap is intentional. There’s a wee bird overlapping the squares there. It doesn’t look like I’ve done a lot to start with, but it took ages, due to all the counting and checking.

I’ve no idea how long it’s going to take to finish, or how many squares I can manage for each update, but I am looking forward to finding out.

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

Avis at Sewing beside the sea
Claire at Claire93
Kate at Tall tales from Chiconia
Gun at Rutigt
Jule at From the boudoir
Wendy at The crafter’s apprentice
Lucy at Lucyannluna
Cathy at NanaCathydotcom
Jacqui at The stitching line
Jess at Ever the crafter

Not everyone does an update each time, but their blogs are always worth a visit.

 

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

18 thoughts on “SAL – Douceur de vivre #1

  1. Love the colours, they’re very mackintoshesque. I’ve never stitched angrid when doing cross stitch, do you find it necessary? I’d translate douceur as softness

    Like

  2. You have a great start. Love all the colors, especially the mauves and the blues. Looking forward to seeing more 🙂

    Like

  3. The colours look lovely. Can’t wait to see what it becomes.

    Like

  4. an excellent idea to stitch the grid first ^^

    Like

  5. This colour palette is gorgeous. Lovely design too. I’ve never sewn on linen so I’ll watch with interest 🙂

    Like

  6. I have a rechargeable folding LED work light to take away on trips so I can sew without straining my eyes. I can’t do without a good light – I agree it’s life changing. Look forward to seeing what develops in that lovely neat grid!

    Like

  7. I think you are doing right, starting in the middle square 🙂 Exciting to see the result!

    Like

  8. Oh my, you must have a good light! 32count, can’t wait to see what it is, the colours are so lovely.

    Like

  9. I’m intrigued, I want to know what’s coming next. I had a daylight lamp for Christmas, it’s transformed my life! Such neat work, I love linen. Fiona x

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

