A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

SAL – Douceur de vivre #3

14 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs and for this update I’ve finished another three squares.

This is top left. I quite like the shape of that tree and I’d been looking forward to doing the bird to get rid of that two-stitch gap in the grid. That looks much better now.

SoL-09Next I did top centre, which has a lovely rustic chimney on the side.

SoL-08And then it was top right, which is my favourite square so far.

SoL-07I was listening to Lord of the Rings (audiobook) while stitching that one, and had got to the part where the hobbits are going through the ancient forest and get tangled up with the evil willow tree just before meeting Tom Bombadil. It felt quite appropriate to be stitching a willow tree while listening. Mine isn’t evil though and hasn’t eaten up any hobbits recently.

Six squares done now then, and this is what it all looks like.

SoL-06

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

Avis at Sewing beside the sea
Claire at Claire93
Kate at Tall tales from Chiconia
Gun at Rutigt
Jule at From the boudoir
Wendy at The crafter’s apprentice
Lucy at Lucyannluna
Cathy at NanaCathydotcom
Sue at The Magpie’s nest
Jess at Ever the crafter

Not everyone does an update each time, but their blogs are always worth a visit.

 

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

14 thoughts on “SAL – Douceur de vivre #3

  1. Your embroidery is so great! I love how the clouds and the bird continues into the next square! Tom Bombadil is one of my favorites in the book and I also missed him not being in the film 🙂

    Like

  2. This is just lovely. I really like it. Tom Bombadil was one of my favourite characters and I was so sad he wasn’t in the film!

    Like

  3. Oh, the willow tree is definitely my favourite so far, but they’re all lovely!

    Like

  4. This is such a relaxing theme. I love the colours too 🙂

    Like

  5. it’s looking good Carole ^^ my favourite square is still the house with the sheep

    Like

  6. Love those little houses they are fantastic

    Like

  7. It looks great! I love the part when the hobbits meet Old Man Willow in LOTR 🙂 I think your willow is much prettier than how I imagine Old Man Willow to be though!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

