A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

A whole lotta latte #1

11 Comments

I’ve been enjoying stitching this one and have almost finished one of the coffee cups. Look, isn’t it pretty!

Latte-01
Can you see all the cat hairs on the fabric? Either there are a lot more hairs wafting around at the moment or this fabric really shows them up. I may have to take the lint roller to it before continuing to stitch.

I haven’t been having as much trouble as I anticipated with the black fabric. I found a brilliant solution, or rather Stephen did. It’s an inspection lamp which sits flat on my lap and doesn’t roll around like the torch did. Also, the light is directed upwards so no white paper needed and it’s very easy to get the light in just the right place. And as a bonus, it’s LED so it’s very bright and doesn’t get hot.

lamp-02It was only Β£5 too, so very reasonable for a crafting tool.

I did have one small problem just after getting the new light. I lost my scissors. The ones with the curved end so they’re perfect for snipping threads close to the fabric. I emptied the tray that I keep my current project in, but they just weren’t there. Thinking that they may have gone down the side of the sofa last time I used them, we looked under it, upturned it to inspect the insides and checked as far as my hands would go down all the nooks and crannies. We found a lot of cat toys, but no scissors.

Want to know where they were? My new work light has a magnet on the back so you can use it hands-free when working on a car. Guess what was stuck to that magnet.

lamp-01Ah well, the underside of the sofa needed a vacuum so it wasn’t a complete waste of time looking for the scissors…

I had a lovely surprise on Saturday. The postman brought me an envelope, inside which was these.

unbirthday giftAnother unbirthday surprise from Claire. There’s a lovely cross stitch chart, with an owl on it. I’m rather fond of owls so I shall enjoy stitching it. There’s also a beautiful handmade lavender sachet. It’s currently hanging in my craft room and infusing it with fragrance.

Thank you Claire πŸ™‚

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

11 thoughts on “A whole lotta latte #1

  1. The coffee cup is awesome! So cheery! LOL on the scissors πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The cup is a beauty! Hair from cats…..well I got them everywhere πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. oooh that coffee cup really pops on black fabric!

    Like

  4. What a fun design, I shall look forward to watching for the other cups/mugs to appear.

    Like

  5. Cat hairs = extra special threads :-). Great idea re the LED light – might just have a go at a black fabric in the future! I love the colours on Latte and think your stitching is really neat.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

