A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Dance on the beach CAL #1

10 Comments

The CAL has officially started now and I’m planning to get cracking on my squares today. Perfect timing as it’s my day off!

As I mentioned before, there are three different colour combinations if you’re using one of the kits, and I was having trouble deciding which one to go for. In the end I went for Dance in the Rain, as the colours in Dance in the sea were very similar to the ripple blanket that I’m doing.

It was so exciting when my box of yarn arrived from the Wool Warehouse. Even the box was pretty.

Rain - box

The colours in Rain are muted and go together beautifully. They’re even nicer than they looked online.

Dance on beach - stashThe yarn feels really soft and squishy and it was gorgeous to work with when I was doing the gauge square. I was so impressed with it, that I gave in to temptation and ordered Dance under the stars, which was Stephen’s preferred colours.

Stars -box

Isn’t it yummy?

Stars - stashThe only colour that I’m a bit dubious about is that bright blue. I’m not sure if I like it with the other colours, but as I’m pretty useless at putting colours together, I may not be the best judge.

Last week the first lot of instructions were released. We got a tips and tricks pdf and video, and were told to do a sample piece for gauge. The video was brilliant with a fewΒ things in it that I didn’t know.

Happily my gauge swatch turned out the right size after a bit of trial and error and blocked to 18cm.

swatchThe instructions say to mark the corner dc with scrap yarn, so I did that on the gauge square to remind me. It also makes blocking easier as you can see exactly where the corner is meant to be.

 

The square for this week is a pretty one and uses popcorn stitch. I’ve watched the video and it looks simple enough. I’ll post the results next week, and will hopefully have eight completed squares.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

10 thoughts on “Dance on the beach CAL #1

  1. I love all the colors in the Dance in the Rain. So pretty and beachy. Your swatch looks so perfect! I have to admit that I have not blocked anything in forever! I must try it someday πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. The rain colour palette is gorgeous! Are you going to make 2 blanets then? I can’t say i’ve ever bothered to do a gauge square – are all the blocks different sizes?

    Like

    • Yes, I’m doing two blankets, although I’m not sure if I can keep up with both of them. I may get behind with one of them, but I can catch up whenever.
      The squares will all be the same size but there is only enough yarn if the squares are the correct size so the gauge square was done for that reason.

      Like

  3. I just love those colours they are so beautiful! Can’t wait to see your week 1 πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. ooh, have fun with it πŸ™‚ I love the stars colours too πŸ™‚ Looking forward to seeing the first part finished

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

