A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Garden update

Leave a comment

Not much has happened in the garden since the last update but the greenhouse is starting to look a bit fuller now, with lots of seedlings and young plants.

I’ve done a bit of potting on as well as sowing more seeds and so far, everything is looking happy.

This is the first lot of courgettes that were sown. I’ve potted them on and they’ve been growing nicely.

Apr30-courgettes02

I’ve got lots of tomato plants now, all potted on, as are the aubergines. You can see them all on the middle row of shelving.

Apr30-seedlings01On the top there are some square pots with the baby sweetcorn, which was potted on last weekend. That’s coming on really fast so I’m hoping the weather improves soon so I can get them planted out. It’s my first attempt at sweetcorn so quite exciting.

Apr30-sweetcorn

I also sowed two more varieties of courgettes. I did so well with the Black Forest last year, that I thought I’d try a variety this time.

Apr30-Courgettes01I was doing my usual greenhouse check and water before work the other day, and found myself singing to the plants as I went. All the news coverage on Prince must have got in my head as I was singing a variation on one of his songs. I’m sure the plants appreciated having Little Red Courgettes sung to them 😉

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

