A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Garden update

7 Comments

I’ve been busy in the garden and it’s starting to look quite a bit tidier. I’ve also started planting some of the plants outside. It may be a bit risky, but we should be past the last frost date here now and the long-range weather forecast looks good.

The greenhouse is so full, that I really needed to get some of the  plants out of there. I’m hopeful that they’ll be ok but if not, I have plenty more 🙂

The corn was getting quite tall so that’s gone into its bed along with plenty of egg shells. The war with the slugs has commenced.

May23-garden-01
The cats have been outside in their pen while I was working. They’ve enjoyed the sunshine, and the bird-watching.

CatsThe courgettes were getting rather large so I’ve popped two of them into pots. The growbag between them is for two of the aubergines once they’ve hardened off a bit more.

May23-courgettesI’ve prepped the growbags outside the greenhouse, ready for the tomatoes. There’ll be three different varieties, some of which will go inside the greenhouse.

May23-greenhouse-01The inside is still looking full, but I was able to spread the plants out a little so they’re not crowded now.

May23-greenhouse-02One of the growbags is planted up with one Tigerella tomato and two Red plum tomatoes. the green pots have some of the Patio mixed Aubergines in them, and the brown pot is full of Dill.

There’s still a lot to do but I’m pleased with how it’s coming on and I’m looking forward to seeing how the Aubergines and Mini corn do as I haven’t grown them before.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

7 thoughts on “Garden update

  1. I’m intrigued. Do crushed egg shells keep slugs away or just slow them down?

    Like

    • Apparently the slugs don’t like crawling over the sharp edges. Even if that doesn’t work, the eggshells are good for the garden and it’s an organic deterrent if they do work 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I actually went and googled after leaving my comment ^^
        And have ended up ordering some slug traps (for beer) and some copper netting too.
        I have about a dozen empty egg shells I was just going to compost, but from now on, I’ll be keeping those for slug fighting. With our hens, we will have no end of egg shells ^^

        Like

        • You certainly won’t be short of eggshells. Beer traps work well too, but I have to fight Stephen for the beer 😉

          Like

          • my other half is usually happy to leave a few dregs for the slugs, but you’re right, I might have to buy a bottle of Brown beer especially for the slug traps and label it “toxic” so jubbie doesn’t drink it lol

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Gardeners just amaze me. Your setup is so nice and you have it all going good. I think about planing flowers, but then I realize I have no clue what I am doing so I abandon the thought. This week our weather is looking really good. high 70’s and 80’s. I think the thread of frost is gone from here, too, but to be safe I like to wait until Memorial Day or after to start purchasing my hanging plants. Have been thinking about putting a few flowers in the ground that weekend, too. I will have to wait and see if I actually go through with it 😉

    Like

    • I find it relaxing, and it’s brilliant being able to pop outside and pick veggies to go with dinner.
      The garden is definitely a mess, but it’s functional rather than pretty. I used to grow lots of pretty flowers – the garden was covered in them but it was so much work. I like growing veggies much more now as you can eat the results 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

